We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little spot in a nice location”
Review of Eetcafe Het Gesprek - CLOSED

Eetcafe Het Gesprek
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 October 2016

My friend and I called in on Friday after work having wandered down from Blaak railway station. The place has a lovely position overlooking the water but, as it was a little chilly, we ate in the dining room rather than the deck. We both had the braised steak with mashed potatoes and warm red cabbage washed down with a couple of beers. Service was good, the price fine and the food quality excellent. Its not a romantic high end bistro but for a really nice meal, I could not fault it. I will definitely pop back to try again in the warmer weather.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Enthusiastic about having mussels on a downpour day. Restaurant is of the 'brown' variety so if one is not seated next to the terrace windows, murky. Chairs are a good sit, tables nicely spaced. In the mood for mussels the choice of cooking combi seemed a tad strange: Gorgonzola? We chose Provence spices as a safe bet followed by the traditional mussel pot with a heap of what appeared to be grass on top, inedible. Mussels were varied in size so some were over cooked in the sandy water remaining. Bread was good as well as the tomato mozzarella salad. Vedechio quite drinkable, served with a smaller wine glass of tap water... No repeat.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This little gem is hidden off the beaten track and well worth visiting. Overlooking the old port it has some great views.
Meals are traditional Dutch and good. You receive plenty and the wine and drink selection is very good.
Again, I have visited this location many times and the spare ribs and king prawn meals are very well worth the visit. Also please try the traditional meals as they are well worth the cost.
Richard and his staff always make you welcome, so please add this to your list

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank kennyboy2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This restaurant has some nice sate (skewer) and steak, nice staff. It's more like a neighborhood restaurant, with a bit old fashioned furniture. If you are a tourist and you are that close to the city center with all trendy places, you might just walk along the street a bit further.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

The reviews made this place sound really good but my experience was very poor. The starter of a goats cheese salad was very oily and just a cheap mixed chopped salad (even with tinned pimento stuffed olives!) and topped with very ordinary goats cheese barely warmed. The Dutch stew for main was two tiny pieces of beef braised in a very fatty broth with a pile of overly sweet red cabbage and mash that had a dried crust. So disappointing. Couldn't even eat it all despite being very hungry. Waiter also didn't seem to care. I hope mine is a one off but today they did not live up to the reviews in any way.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank alanc685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eetcafe Het Gesprek also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing