We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic feel and pretty good ramen”
Review of Hinoki

Hinoki
Ranked #19 of 1 329 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 August 2018

I come here often, but maybe more due to lack of better options in Rotterdam. I like the vibe of the place because it feels like Japan: basic and a place for eating, not relaxing. Ramen is good, but does not compare for me to the real deal.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The ambience, the friendliness, the Japanese (pop) music in the background. This all contributes to the feeling of almost being in Japan.
We’ve eaten here before, so much so that with our last visit the waitress knew our favourite Ramen. Tonkotsu red special! With an extra soft boiled egg... simply delicious!!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 632carlitosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

A small Japanese restaurant perfect for lunches and dinner. Wide selection of Ramen noodles, but also other side dishes with rice, chicken/meat, Takoyaki or Gyoza. Nice service as well!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Curious241601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Nice small homely restaurant with friendly servers We we there at 12 noon and by 12.30pm, e restaurant was full. We ordered 3 variety of ramen for each of us and Kaarage (portion of 5). The Kaarage came first, deep fried chicken (Japanese version of nuggets) with a slice of lemon and mayonnaise. The aroma was pleasant with hints of sesame oil and blended spices which was balanced. As soon as it’s halved, steam was seen signaling the heat from inside. It had a good balanced seasoning, flavorful taste. Happy!! Then came the 3 different ramen Tsukemen, Hinoki Red Special and Hinoki Black Special. The eggs for the Ramen were perfectly cooked, soft yolk with balanced seasoning of salt and soy. The broth were rich, intense and dense; balanced taste and flavorful , rich mouthfeel. The noodles had a bite similar to “al dente”. The portions were just right. We were happy with the visit and will definitely return. One word of advice, be there early for lunch or you will need to wait until there is a free table!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank chankk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, wonderful people, and quality food for reasonable price ! Heartily recommend it !

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Mat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hinoki also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Hinoki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing