We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
54
8
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
8
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar boutique hotel lovely canal place to stay beautiful town room was large one night breakfast was delicious on foot perfect location business trip top floor train station gym bobby expanding centre
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Due to a wedding of close friends we wanted to sleep in Leiden. After a short search I arrived at Steenhof Suites, perfect location in Leiden and a 2-minute walk from the City Hall!

Upon checking in we were greeted warmly by the Owner and an employee. Upon checking in we already had right a nice click with our hostess and she showed a lot of interest in us.
After check-in the ladies wanted to help us lift the suitcases upstairs which was very sweet, but we as two men could not find it in our hearts to let them lift our heavy suitcases, but the gesture was much appreciated!

We got a little tour where they showed us the wine cellar. Great wines at good prices! The beauty of this hotel is that is maintained throughout the old style combined with a beautiful sleek design that does not collide. A very nice living kitchen, with a large table where we had a lovely breakfast with other guests from the hotel. This gives a very homey feeling with the very popular hostess.
Our room was great! Plenty of space and fully equipped. We were staying in the Steenhof Suite, but from other guests at the breakfast table we understood that the Royal Suite certainly not inferior to his name.
Overall, we had a great stay, made possible by the Owner and its friendly staff. Definitely worth a try!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harms070nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The reason I'm giving this place a poor instead of a terrible is that at least our room "Royal Suite" was beautiful and it had a power shower. But we were not given the "royal" treatment for what we were paying. This place is being run as the owners personal playground. She has her friends over who don't stay here but use the wine cellar below us to party all night long. Our sleep was already disturbed by the noise below us and above us as there is no insulation between levels but then the taxi came at 5am to pick up the revellers, waking us up again by pounding on the door. We got very little sleep the two nights we were here. The worse thing to happen though was that our car got towed out in front of the B&B. We made sure there was parking before we arrived and how much it was in messages with the B&B. Nothing was ever told to us about Saturday Market days that you can't park in certain areas, not even when we checked in (we arrived on a Friday), which is when you would think someone would have mentioned that very important fact. One of these tow zone areas was out in front (the closest to their front door). This is where we parked. We don't read Dutch so didn't notice the sign that stated you can't park there between 00:00 - 18:00 on Saturdays. We awoke on Saturday, which was supposed to be a day of celebrating as it was my birthday, to a missing car. The car was tracked down and the towing company wanted an extortionate amount to release it - €257.50! The owner offered us a free taxi ride as compensation knowing that they were at fault for not warning us. I wasn't happy with this and told her that I also expected half of our stay back. She agreed to refund one night's stay as well. We were still out of pocket and not happy with the damper that it placed on the day. As a result, the inconvenience of a late start and having to find alternative parking had a trickle down effect and affected all of our plans. We never ended up getting a cake for my birthday and we missed out on our dinner reservations and ended up eating somewhere else less disirable. She knew it was my birthday and I kept hoping every time we came back to our room that we'd find she did something to make up for this happening during our stay by providing a free bottle of wine or champagne knowing she had a whole wine cellar of wine and a fridge filled with chilled wine upstairs. She didn't do anything but instead had a loud party with her friends, disturbing all of her occupants. I would never recommend this place. I think the owner needs to grow up and start taking her business responsibilities seriously. There is a sign she has hung up on the wall that states 'People will forget what you said, People will forget what you did, But people will never forget how you made them feel.' She needs to let this message sink in because she made us feel like we were nothing but a room sale for her. Breakfast was also a disappointment. I had heard such great things about the breakfasts but they consisted of stale bread and cheese and very skimpy on the sliced meat. The soft boiled egg was almost hardboiled. There was no love put into any of it. She also expected us to eat pouring yogurt over oatmeal. Very odd. She dumped the contents of one fruit bowl that was leftover by another guests and combined it with ours on the table. She did this right in front of us and apparently thought nothing of it. That's a bit unsanitary as we don't know what that the other couple had done with theirs. Breakfast is not worth the €10pp. In fact, I'd go someplace else for breakfast. It's not really a B&B is it, if they charge for breakfast? Also, some of the amenities were lacking; there was no bin in the room so we left all of our trash on the glass desk to be cleaned up. There were also no tissues so had to use toilet paper. Slippers were provided but no robe. We got one towel each to use, which is stingy - not luxury. Upon check out - the owner was MIA. Probably in bed with a hangover. You would have thought that she would care how our day turned out after retrieving our car but no, she chose to avoid us instead. No one was found in fact when we wanted to check out so had no other choice but to leave the room key in the room so we could get on the road. Best to avoid this one.

Room tip: Royal Suite is gorgeous but you'll hear your neighbours and the parties in the wine cellar.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

An absolutely stunning boutique hotel in the historic centre of leiden, with big but cosy suites, decorated with the newest equipement but with respect for the historic details, very good bed, realy felt like a princess, I would definately come back here

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Doudshoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Beautifull renovated suites in the beautifull centre of Leiden. The room was huge and has all the comforts that you can possibly want. The perfect hotel for a short weekend away!! Loved the old city of Leiden en the personal touch of the people who run this great hotel!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

It is a Bed and Breakfast - but B&B is not the right description. Opened just 3 months ago, the owner has spared no expense in renovating this old city centre house. All room are spacious - mine was enormous. It is a character building in a delightful part of town - about 10 mins walk from the train station. One of many really nice touches is a well-stocked reasonably-priced wine cellar with an honour system for payment.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WJFHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews