We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
38
76
42
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
76
42
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station albert heijn room was clean excellent shower one night hotel entrance kind staff minute walk spent three nights within walking distance coffee and tea booked this hotel per night air conditioning on foot other hotels would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Given a few of the rather negative reviews that we read, we were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Golden Tulip hotel. There was nothing that we could fault apart from not being able to get the TV to work. The room was very nice, modern and tastefully decorated. There were two very comfortable chairs. The bed was very comfortable. The room was quiet. The wet room/shower was very good. The kettle and the coffee and tea were very welcome. It was also very conveniently located for the railway station and the old town centre. A further plus is that it takes as little as 25 minutes or so from the hotel entrance to get to Schiphol airport

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatasjaH102, Front Office Manager at Tulip Inn Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear guest, we're glad to hear you've had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do hope to see you again soon! With kind regards, team Tulip Inn Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The Tulip inn hotel in Leiden is an excellent hotel, with good service and treatment. Our room was clean, well furnished, and quiet (it was not on the side of the street). The dinner was prepared with love and the chefs understood their profession. So the restaurant in the hotel has an excellent kitchen. The restaurant is stylish and modern, with lots of white. The breakfast was also of good quality, and with a wide choice of food and drinks. We will certainly visit this hotel regularly in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A-flying-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatasjaH102, Front Office Manager at Tulip Inn Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We really appreciate your positive comments. Happy to read you enjoyed the breakfast, excellent staff and clean and comfortable room. Looking forward to another opportunity to be of service to you! With kind regards, team Tulip Inn Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

I spent three nights in this solid 3-star hotel. My room, on the back of the hotel, was clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable, with standard amenities (TV, no fridge, no safe, a soap dispenser, a shampoo dispenser). Although I couldn't control the temperature of the room, it was never too hot, despite the summer heat. There is a garage in the back where guests can park their cars for €12.50 per night. Breakfast is €15 per person (€7.50 for children), but I didn't try it because I'm not a big eater in the morning (anyway there is a Starbucks in the train station, a 5-minute walk from the hotel). The hotel is on the fringes of the old city center, that can be easily explored on foot, and, given the hotel's proximity to the train station and to the highway (about 4 km. north of the hotel), it is also convenient for exploring Amsterdam. In fact it took me about 30 minutes to reach one of Amsterdam's P+R parking facilities from the hotel (during off peak times). My only complaint is that, the day before my arrival, they pre-authorized my credit card by DOUBLE the amount of my entire stay. They explained that they included all possible extras. I found this practice a bit disconcerting, because it left me with a large sum blocked on my card for several days. What if I didn't have enough residual funds for the rest of my expenses? Other hotels charge you for the first night, it is the first time I experience something like this. On a more positive note, the ever-rotating staff was always polite and professional.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

While the Tulip Inn is a bit on the outskirts of Leiden and near the freeway, it is a great place to enjoy a quiet nights rest. There was a minimal amount of city noise in comparison to hotels nearer the city center, especially in the early hours. The location is close to the central train station and within walking distance of the city center. It is easy to explore not only Leiden, but the adjacent cities such as Rotterdam, Haarlem, and Amsterdam from this location. The only drawback is the pillars in the middle of the rooms in some regions of the hotel.
Aside from this, the rooms are clean, accommodating, and serviced by an excellent staff. We wanted for nothing, and fresh bath linens are left on the door in a bag when the do not disturb sign is posted. All old towels are placed in the bag and hung on the door for pick up. I truly enjoyed the fresh replacement without the intrusion into our room. The family lounge provides games (Jenga, cards, and puzzels) for family fun.
Breakfast on site is varied in composition ( i.e., Smoothies, juices, oatmeal, meat cold cuts and cheese in addition to baked and scrambled eggs with amazing local bread, of course, all the dairy options of the region). The coffee machines were a life saver, providing everything from a simple cup of Joe to a cappuccino and espresso upon request.
Highly recommended as a base to explore the region.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank kristisadler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Stayed here sadly only for one night last week.

Hotel parking, reception, room, breakfast and also evening meal all excellent. Good location near town center and station and easy walking distance to main shopping street in lovely picturesque Leiden. Do take a canal boat trip (they last 1 hr) and you see and learn a lot. The hotel even gave us a voucher for money off the boat trip which was already very affordable

Evening meal served to perfection, little bit pricey though my husband thought not, fairly small menu but sufficient for guests though not a lot of the guests seemed to dine in, but it was mobbed for breakfast so the guests were there.

The room was excellent, decor lovely and the beds extremely comfortable and a nice bathroom and good shower. All in all good value for money and I would happily have stayed for longer but we used the hotel for the one night before returning to Newcastle on the ferry from Amsterdam.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here !

Room tip: a room facing the city if you are high enough up
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank amber54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews