We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
170
44
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
44
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room the ground floor steep stairs loft apartment lovely mix dutch stairs split level hot tub the main hotel charm and character highly recommend this hotel dutch experience lovely hotel breakfast was delicious canal house minute walk big room
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Many raving reviews of Boutique Hotel Huys Van Leyden do not pertain to the hotel itself but to other properties at nearby locations, which go by the same name: a canal view loft in an old house (54 yd) and a ‘studio’ and apartment in a modern building (164yd). Very confusing for Tripadvisor users!

Boutique Hotel Huys Van Leyden is a 'hotel' without reception, restaurant, bar or on-site staff, basically a 5 bedroom B&B without live-in host. We stayed here for four nights in January 2016 and found the place to be very anonymous. Apart from the friendly man who cooked breakfast, we only saw someone when checking in and checking out. Upon arrival, we were handed our key by a none too friendly lady, who explained the house rules to us, and who collected our key and money the last morning. Coming back from a short walk on the day of our departure we found all our things gone from out room. Before check-out time! As we couldn’t find our luggage, we rang the house bell. It took some time before the hostess and the cleaning lady arrived. They had clearly been off for a smoke (smell!) and had simply stuffed our luggage in a cupboard before leaving. We found that quite chocking.

While the hallway of the historic Huys Van Leyden house and especially the breakfast room were beautifully done up in a cosy antique style conveying a sense of opulence, our room on the ground floor at the back of the house was rather disappointing. It was also nicely decorated in the style of the house, but looked out on a rather drab courtyard with a metal staircase. In the rainy weather we had during our stay it was not very cheerful. But, as guests using the communal Jacuzzi had to pass in front of our window, we had to draw the curtains in the evening anyway.

There was only one narrow and very high wardrobe in a corner and we had to leave most of our luggage under the desk, which we found unpleasant. A nice thing was that the room was equipped with a Nespresso coffee and tea maker, a large flat screen television and a very good bed. The bathroom was modern but had no complimentary toiletries as one would expect in a four star hotel. One day we came back to our room to do some reading because it was pouring with rain only to find that the room was next to the hotel laundry and we could hear the washing machine pounding behind the wardrobe. We found out there was no fixed time for doing the laundry, somewhere between 6 and 8 p.m. The beside lamps were unsuitable for reading. We also had difficulties with the internet connection. The password we were provided with didn’t work but, strangely enough, we were able to access the internet by using another Huys van Leyden network without password. Wi-fi was rather slow though.

The redeaming fator was the breakfast room on the first floor, which is really magnificent. It is clear a lot of effort went into its decoration. We really enjoyed having breakfast here. The buffet offered a large choice and the quality of the products was excellent. But on the whole we can't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trainbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBHL, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much in putting so much effort in writing down a review. We are very disappointed that you reviewed your stay as ‘disappointed’. Our Hotel (not a B&B) is rated as the highest in our city for years and we are sorry you did not experience this feeling.

But as you took time to write everything down, so will I.

Let me start with the accommodations we offer:
We have 2 four-star Boutique Hotels and some apartments. They all have other names and addresses and logically different listings at TripAdvisor. We are not the first hotel that offers hotel rooms, and apartments. And it is not so strange the apartments are located on another address. That it is confusing for you, is confusing for us. It is quite clear on our website, and if you are indeed a frequent TripAdvisor guest, you should know how this works.

As stated by yourself, you have stayed in a very small hotel with only 5 rooms. That means we do not have 15 staff members, our reception (which you apparently missed?) is open and staffed from 07.00 – 22.00 hrs. After these hours you can use the phone in your room to call the reception.

Our/your check out time is noon. That means the room (and the luggage) need to be taken from the room by then. But, you left your packed luggage in the room, even though we have asked you kindly to leave it at the reception. Because you left and came back several hours after noon, we had to clean the room and store the luggage in a safe location. Other guest want to use our good service to. I think it is quite rude to write that we, as a hotel with an outstanding reputation, would be careless with your belongings! Should you have followed the information which was given to you by the ‘unfriendly lady’ (The Owner) this situation would not have occurred.

I also see some inconsistencies in your text. You like the decoration of the hotel, the rooms and the beautiful decorated 16th century breakfast room. But not the courtyard dating from 1611 because of a metal staircase? Dutch rainy weather make no garden look pretty, and the staircase is there to go to our garden roof. Perhaps you should have used the free wellness area to? It could have ‘warmed you up‘ on rainy day’s.

You write you liked the (complementary) coffee/tea facilities, the TV and the very good bed (one of the most important things: a good bed!) But state you have missed the complementary toiletries? Besides the fact it sounds you were looking for free items, it is untrue. As we refreshed those items 2 times during your stay (Shampoo, conditioner, body gel, body lotion, cotton swabs, nail file, shower cab, etc etc) A four star hotels is obligated to have them, as we do.

In the Netherlands we like to give our clients clean sheets and towels. The cleaning department uses the washers between 10.00 in the morning until 18.00 in the late afternoon. Regular working hours. We can also wash them between 22.00 and 05.00 in the morning. Would that be better? Dutch internet is one of the quickest in Europe. It is a shame you did not contact the reception. We could have helped you then.

We are glad you liked the ‘redeeming factor’: our a la carte breakfast, with our home cooked dishes. As we make it with love.

To summary:
- you liked the decoration of the hotel, the rooms and the dining area
- you liked the bed and the a la carte breakfast

But because you missed some of the information given to you when you checked in, you did not know what to do with your suitcase on the day of departure, and forgot to ask the reception for help when you had troubles connecting with the Wi-Fi. Next to that, it rained 4 day’s and this was probably the reason your holiday was disrupted.

Please: Look before you leap! When I read your comments, your stay was actually quite good. And, didn’t you book our Boutique Hotel because of its charm? The smallness? The decoration and it good beds and breakfast? The 400 year old history?

If you compare a Boutique Hotel with only 5 rooms with a big un personal hotel, belonging to a chain, I have to be very sorry. Than our hotel does not ‘fits your shoe’, and you do not fit ours.

PS: Why writing a review almost 11 months after your stay?

Kind regards,
BOUTIQUE HOTEL HUYS VAN LEYDEN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I've always wanted to stay here but on past visits to Leiden it has always been booked. This time I was lucky and booked the loft, a 3rd floor apartment with living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Perfect for 5 days of sightseeing and connecting with family and friends! The loft was well equipped with everything I needed, the bed was very comfortable and the view over the canal from the living room was lovely. The nights were quiet and I was able to sleep with the windows wide open. The staff were also friendly and attentive, particularly Marleene from housekeeping who stopped by every day to see if I needed anything, bringing me extra coffee! I will definitely book here again next time I visit Leiden.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Stayed here for three nights at the end of October. Our room was very well appointed (room no. 4 on 2nd floor at top of steep spiral staircase) and had a lovely view of the canal. There was a large flatscreen tv and espresso coffee machine and tea making facilities. Bathroom was small but very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. Bed was very comfy and we slept well - lighter sleepers might hear gentle bells from local church but this was not obtrusive. Breakfast is taken in the beautiful first floor dining room which overlooks the canal and offers a wide selection including fruits/cereals/cheeses/cold meats/pastries etc as well as cooked breakfasts. The pancakes and French toast with bananas and syrup deserve a special mention. We found the hotels location ideal - within easy walking distance of several good restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to Leiden central station. Leiden is well placed for easy day trips via train to Delft, The Hague, and Haarlem. Amsterdam is approximately 25 minutes via frequent train service. However Leiden offers plenty to see and do and we would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely typically Dutch hotel if you are considering a stay in Leiden.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DAandKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This was the perfect place to visit the town of Leiden and be close to the centre. The rooms were comfortable, and immaculately clean. Breakfast was worth getting up for and the service terrific. Overlooking a canal it was only a short walk to museums shops and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer22153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Small hotel with only five rooms, all very beautiful decorated. Its close to main streets and many restaurants. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive. Good beds. We stayed in second floor and it is very steep stairs to go up. We didn't think of that as a problem but some might.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Bikersfromstavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Receptie D, Manager at Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in the smallest 4-star hotel in The Netherlands.

Our a la carte breakfast with homemade dishes, pancakes etc (and with buffet) is E13,50 per person. This includes all drinks, special coffees etc. We know for a fact our breakfast is the cheapest and the most extended of in all the Hotels in Leiden. And even if you go into the city, it will be more expensive. We are sorry to read you think it is expensive.

We are glad you have enjoyed the beds, service, decorated rooms and our beautiful city.

Kind reghards,
HUYS VAN LEYDEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews