We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
168
222
91
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
222
91
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station comfort room breakfast buffet city centre staff was friendly and helpful rooms are comfortable restaurants and bars business hotel excellent location short walk amsterdam airport hotel is located fine hotel an alternative long weekend business trip within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

I had an excellent stay at the Golden Tulip. The room was clean, modern, spacious, recently renovated. I stayed in a room with 4 single beds, which I think would make it good for families. The beds are put side by side so that they look like two king beds. The bathroom was large and had a bathtub. No refrigerator, but plenty of room for clothes. I liked the fact that the room was carpet free.

My room came with breakfast so I enjoyed that every morning. Extensive buffet with scrambled eggs, fried eggs, boiled eggs, pancakes, beans, tomato gratin, variety of breads, cheeses, meats, yogurt, juice, fruit, cereal. Large selection. Otherwise, it's 16.5 euros.

It's got an excellent location--close to everything, 15 minute walk to the university, shopping, the museums. Loads of restaurants and places to go a short distance away. There is a Jumbo supermarket right near the train station where I picked up snacks.

The tv had Dutch, German, French, Spanish, English channels, including BBC 1, BBC 2, CNBC, Bloomberg News, CNN. There is also a business center area with two computers and printers.

Staff was helpful, and my room was made up nicely by housekeeping every day.

While there was very little noise from the street (I had a room in the back overlooking the parking lot), the soundproofing between rooms was not great--I could hear when my neighbor's cell phone rang for skype calls, and I could also hear nearly every word of his conversations. But luckily he was fairly quiet

There was no thermostat in the room, so I guess you have to just live with the temperature that the hotel sets; luckily it was not one of those places where they crank the heat up to suffocating levels. The room had its own radiator. Not sure about AC

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the back
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Illinois_traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatasjaH102, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We really appreciate your positive comments. Happy to read you enjoyed the breakfast, excellent location and comfortable room. Looking forward to another opportunity to be of service to you! With Kind Regards, team Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Close to the train station and to the beautiful town of Leiden (Walking distance). Nice hotel (Recommend reserving the executive rooms as they are larger).

Beds were an odd setup as it is two single beds made up separate and then pushed together, but maybe this is the norm for this hotel, not sure.

Service was excellent and the breakfast buffet (Have to pay for this) was very good.

Location is perfect so I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Executive room
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScottJoynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatasjaH102, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear guest, we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location and friendly staff are just some of the reasons our guests make us their hotel of choice. We hope to welcome you back again soon so that we may continue to enhance your guest experience. With Kind Regards, team Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend city trip. First up: the convenient location. Turn left on Leiden Central's front square, walk 200 meters, and you're at the hotel. And the former city walls (the outer limits of the old city) are just 300 meters from the hotel; visiting the historic center is just a leisurely walk away.
The hotel itself is big, complete with conference facilities and a spacious breakfast room/restaurant. Staff was friendly, breakfast buffet was extensive and good with lots of smoothies and fruit juices available. We had the slightly higher priced "executive room" instead of the standard "comfort room". The website promises a "rainshower and/or bath" that the comfort room lacks; our room 138 unfortunately didn't have a bath. The rainshower was fine, though. Nice room, pretty well cleaned, pretty well furnished, no complaints.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarum4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatasjaH102, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Lynn, we're glad to hear you've had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do hope to see you again soon! With Kind Regards, team Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms are big enough for 2 people. The bathroom was renovated and good. The location is next to the station. There are supermarkets nearby so it was a pleasant stay. The walls were thin,you can hear others while in the room.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank özlem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Everything is perfect and all new. It's in walking time from the pedestrian area and the historical center and the train station is just two minutes away. Everything is new and the rooms are super clean. The breakfast is perfect having anything and will leave nobody disappointed. The parking place is an extra plus!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frixos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasja H, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon so that we may continue to enhance your guest experience.

With kind regards,

Team Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews