We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative, but reallly to slow”
Review of Syr Restaurant

Syr Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 1 191 Restaurants in Utrecht
Price range: R 160 - R 698
Neighbourhood: Lange Nieuwstraat
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Lange Nieuwstraat
Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile

You only have a choice between a 4,5 or 6 meal menu, all vegetarian.

The quality and creativity of the dishes are really good.
If you take the option with a drink with every dish, be aware that they are alcoholic drinks, but not wine.

While i appreciate the inventiveness of the choices, at least two glasses of a nice wine out of 6 dishes would have been nice. Som of drinks were good, some were really not, like a really sour beer.

Service was very friendly and spenda a lot of time explaining the drinks and dishes.

The main downside is really the excruciating.y slow service. We booked for 6pm, we finished by 10h30. That is really to long. If you book for 6 pm, it probably means you don‘t want to get home after 11pm, otherwise i would just book for 8pm

This was the second time we tried the restaurant, and it was the second time it just took too long. After 2 hours, we just received the secpnd out of 6 dishes.

So overall, it‘s a nice change, if you have (really) a lot of time, and it‘s probably a better idea to just order a nice bottle of wine than take the drinks with the menu.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2023

Be careful. It's not a Syrian restaurant anymore! The name is misleading.
It's a fancy dinner restaurant. Food is great, but totally different place than the original SYR!

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2022

Went to this restaurant for an anniversary dinner with my girlfriend. Knew in advance that it was going to be expensive, but I expected to get at least some value for the money. I am sorry to say that that was not the case.

The food was completely disappointing. Bland in taste and very very dry. We ordered the maximum amount of courses possible, but it seemed we ordered the same dish all over and over. All dishes were made from a dry base accompanied by a mousse and something fried on top of it. The same bland flavour accompanied all dishes, with hardly any variation. Even the desert was dry.

I understand that there might be a concept behind giving all courses the same texture and general flavour, but the general experience felt like having some ridiculously expensive crackers next to some vegetable mousse.

The service was good and friendly but in the end the food makes a place and this is a hard no. Do not recommend, many better options for 1/10th of the price.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eduardod990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2020

Wonderful sets of multiple foods, first starters and main dishes with a weighting to vegetarian food. Exteremely tasty!

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank JaakkoK631
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

We had dinner here with some colleagues. Obviously we had no idea what dish to choose, so we all picked some different dishes. It was all quite tasty, with friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Syr Restaurant also viewed

Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Syr Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.