We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Pancakes but...”
Review of The Pancake Bakery

The Pancake Bakery
Ranked #27 of 116 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Amsterdams oldest pancake house opened its doors in 1973 in a former 17th century VOC warehouse, situated on Prinsengracht 191. Soon it became the pleasant and cosy restaurant which it still is today, a place where both young and old feel at home right away. The building called ‘Hoop’ (Hope) is one of the three buildings that were all in possession of the powerful and prosperous Dutch East India Company (VOC), from left to right ‘Geloof’ (‘Faith’), ‘Hoop’ and ‘Liefde’ (‘Love’). In this Dutch Golden Age Calvinism was at its peak, and faith and business often went hand in hand. From this point of view the names of these warehouses are not unusual. The buildings are situated on the Prinsengracht (Prince’s canal), named after the Prince of Orange, and form part of the well known Amsterdam Canal District.
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Really Good Dutch Pancakes but the place itself is neglected, doesn’t feel very clean, and the service is meh. Kinda feels like eating at a Denny’s or iHop.

Date of visit: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank AshQueen2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 3 696 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

A little pricey but well worth it as portions are huge! We got a bacon cheese mushroom + chorizo pancake and the dutch pancake. Split half and half, perfect for me and my boyfriend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 111Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Food came after a 40 minute wait. Really hyped to try out this place, but unfortunately the slow service ruined the food for me. The pancake itself came in a good portion, otherwise can’t say the flavour blew my mind. The service wasn’t great either. A lot of the time, we had trouble getting attention of the staff which left us feeling unattented and ignored.

Date of visit: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank A6911GRmaryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

This was quite a find! We were tired of cheese and bread meals. You’ll love it here! Delicious!!! Sugar+lemon+fresh strawberries!!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

A great breakfast spots with some of the best omelettes and pancakes we've ever had! I'd go back if I had more time on my trip.

Date of visit: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank beewee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pancake Bakery also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Pancake Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing