We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food”

Thai Restaurant Bangkok
Reserve with
Thai Restaurant Bangkok is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 096 of 4 630 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I visited this restaurant with a group of four friends on Tuesday evening, we had seen the restaurant walking from our hotel earlier in the day and decided on a Thai meal when we went out to eat. From the moment we arrived we were accommodated with a friendly smile. As it was still 30C outside we asked for a table inside, the waitresses quickly made up a table for us without any fuss. The menu is extensive, we opted for three Pad Thai dishes and a sizzling beef dish which were all delicious. One friend wanted a hotter than usual green curry, and despite the waitress warning her that it would be very hot, it was cooked to perfection for her. The portions are quite large but as they were so tasty, I was able to eat all my food. We had a bottle of house white wine, South African Chenin Blanc but opted for the more expensive French Merlot for the red wine drinkers, (23€), it was worth the extra money as it was a beautiful mellow wine that complimented the food, the best wine tasted during the whole three day trip to Amsterdam. Overall, we had a very tasty and enjoyable meal with excellent wine. The staff took time out to advise when taking our order and then chat to us at the end of our meal. The only negative was having to pay for still tap water, however, this seems to be the case at all the Amsterdam restaurants where we ate.
A lovely evening was had by all, good food, delicious wine and a smiling, helpful waitress added to the experience.
Thank you!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maryocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We picked this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and having arrived 10 hrs earlier after a long flight from Hong Kong. We were ushered into the restaurant from the street by the concierge with about 2/3 of the tables occupied. We were asked about drinks twice before we were shown a menu. The menu was pretty standard Thai fare and we picked our usual 'at home' favourites. Drinks were supplied and we waited, when the meals were eventually presented they looked OK, but the Pork in the stir fry was tough and not enjoyable. The curry was OK along with the usual chunky carrots. (why can't carrots be cut finer?) The 'special fried rice' was gelatinous and felt like it had been in a pot on the stove for some time. We were tired and hungry, the food was just OK and we didn't feel the need to return during the rest of our stay in Amsterdam.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

The Tom Ka soup was excellent. The Pad Thai (all options) was expensive and light on noodles, strangely, but pretty tasty. They bring a huge bowl of white rice. The Panang Curry was very tasty and good. Overall, expensive but good. We went on someone's recommendation and I would return.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank romalaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

The wife and I just decided to eat here since we were very hungry from walking around the city. We Enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the food and service. We both had the Tom Yam Koong Soup, and then we had the Pad Thai Chicken and the Pad Thai with Shrimps. Both dishes were very tasty.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NealF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This is our decision to went there and the food is very delicious service is very active
Love to go back again

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank afraimaalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Restaurant Bangkok also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Restaurant Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing