We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Rain

Rain
Ranked #3 581 of 4 630 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$34 - US$57
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Rain bar and restaurant in Amsterdam’s most active café-and-nightlife neighborhood is now a part of the hotel Royal Amsterdam Hotel - Restaurant. Everything about it gets American style: the menu, the bar, the restaurant and the terrace, oh, and the genuine friendliness of the staff. There are 2 daily changing menus - breakfast buffet from 7:00-11:00 and lunch/dinner menu from 12:00 till closing time. Rain’s philosophy includes delight, refreshment and inspiration.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

I was tempted with this restaurant when we first walked past. Called and made a reservation for dinner.Good atmosphere and great helpful staff. Good size portions (American!) but a bit pricey. It seems all the normal accompaniments like fries or steak sauce are add-ons and cost extra! I had sirloin steak cooked to perfection. My wife had the Texas tostado which she found quite a plateful! That said we both had fries and I had onion rings and a bottle of PG and still water. Only one course for both of us. Felt it was a bit overpriced. The service was good and we felt comfortable in the restaurant. Worth a try if you want to push the boat out. Located in a vibrant part of Amsterdam.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Amsterdam H, Public Relations Manager at Rain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had great evening with your wife and enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant.
We will hand over your tips to the management so they could take a closer look into it and take under consideration in case of any changes.

We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Royal Amsterdam / Rain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Nice meal, mid price, not expensive and very tasty. Good portions and proper home made onion rings. Chicken was moist and sauces tasty. I would highly recomend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank allisons680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli Z, Marketing Manager at Rain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Allison,

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation. We glad that you enjoyed our service and dishes.

We would be more than happy to host you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Rain / Royal Amsterdam team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Not sure about the bad reviews. Although they can improve the overall atmosphere, and utilize their beautiful bar by removing the two useless tables adjacent to it, the food was good, price/quality very good and the service very decent.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JanSytzeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli Z, Marketing Manager at Rain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Jan,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are doing our best to improve our service. We are glad that you see that. We would like to thank you for the tips and areas for further improvement. We will discuss it within a team and management.

We are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully in the future.

With kind regards,
Rain / Royal Amsterdam team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant on our hunt for food on our first night and happily discovered amazingly good food, both the chicken and the steak were cooked to perfection! The staff were friendly and helpful, we wanted to sit outside so found a table (which was wet due to the rain) the staff offered us to sit elsewhere but we were comfortable and not worried about the rain. Excellent, would highly recommend eating here!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank E1269NNtonim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Amsterdam H, Marketing Manager at Rain, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Toni,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit in our restaurant. It is an amazing feedback for our entire team and we are very happy to see that we are doing a good job and our customers see it.
Thank you for such a nice review and your recommendation. We are really appreciate it.

We are looking forward to your next visit in Amsterdam and hopefully in our restaurant.

With kind regards,

Royal Amsterdam /Rain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Turned away during HM cup play Germany-Sweeden cos we wher 2 but the table was fore 4 people the table was empty but they probebly figured they culd sell more to a larger group

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank malansrin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Amsterdam H, Marketing Manager at Rain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Malandrin66,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. Indeed our waiters suggest the tables for our guests, especially when we have the last table for a group of 4 people and a lot of tables for 2 persons which you were advised to seat at and this is nothing unusuwal but a normal practise in any restaurant. What is not truth is that we didn't reject/refuse to serve you so we would appreciate to tell the truth when you decide to give your feedback.

We would be grateful to give us a chance to have a real dining experience in our restaurant including our food and service and we are really looking forward to it.

With kind regards,

Royal Amsterdam/Rain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rain also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Weesp, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing