We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with excellent entertainment”
Review of Pasta e Basta

Pasta e Basta
Reserve with
Pasta e Basta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #229 of 4 658 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Pasta e Basta restaurant nearly opposite the Rijksmuseum has a name that simply doesn’t do it justice. It means ‘pasta full stop’ but really should trumpet the singing accomplishments and mad party atmosphere that the waiters and waitresses deliver. The dining room is splendid, with scarlet-covered chairs, flouncy wall sconces, dramatic drapes and fine art, while the bar area is more modern but just as operatic. The wait staff really truly can sing, everything from pop, jazz and musical to grand opera, and they get the joint jumping. The long tables attract hens and big groups and the small cosy niches and bar are right for more intimate numbers, and it is just one fantastic evening. The menu is Italian, incorporating excellently-sourced meat, fish and veg. Anti pasti is served buffet-style from a chilled grand piano. They offer two shared dining menus with options for everyone. Children are more than welcome at Pasta e Basta and we can comply to all diets and allergies. Don't miss it
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I always like to do something a little different for one of our meals on holiday and this fit the bill perfectly. I booked about 3 weeks in advance to make sure I got a decent time to fit our schedule and the place was full by about 8.00pm.

I always like a restaurant where you step down into it and the windows just show peoples feet walking past, no idea why and no idea why I mentioned it here. We arrived at 7.00pm expecting to be the first there but the place was already half full.

We sat and ordered our drinks and the entertainment began with staff getting up and singing every 15 minutes or so, a great range of performances and musical styles along with a live piano performance.

The menu options were fair and we opted for the 35 euro per person option giving us 3 past dishes to spare and followed that with a dessert. The meal including 2 cocktails came to just over 100 euro but we got a memorable experience for it.

Would definitely recommend this place if (obviously) you like pasta.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steviefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasta B, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Stevie, Thank you for this great review. We are very happy to read that you had such a good time. You are right, it is very important to book in advance, but if you do, we do try to give you the best Pasta experience possible. Thank you again for all the compliments. These beautiful reviews make our day. Kind regards, Margot Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1 019 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We loved this restaurant. Not only was the food outstanding, but the talent was fantastic. A nice surprise as we did not know that we would be entertained during our "family-style" meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maryb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasta B, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Mary, thank you so much for this great review and for the compliments. This is exactly what we try to achieve; the family style type meal with good quality food and entertainment. I really do hope to see you again in our restaurant! Kind regards, Margot Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Great restaurant and very good experience which can always be relied on. The singing wait staff is of the highest standard in Europe.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasta B, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Geoff, thank you so much for your great review! Kind regards, Margot Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We were leaving the Bloemenmarkt Wednesday evening, and knowing that most restaurants shut down their kitchens by 22h, we were scrambling to find a close place. Pasta e Basta showed up on my splotchy mobile data search, so we went for it. I loved the greenery outside. The hostess greeted us at the doorway and informed us that we were in for a shared-dining musical experience. We accepted and were seated at a corner bench with pillows. Service was timely and friendly, although our hostess was singing when we were seated; the hostess got our drink orders while our waitress entertained. She walked around and serenaded every table with a great number and a entrancing skill. The pianist's performance was on a television mounted to the wall nearby. We opted for the preset menu, changing out one pasta choice for another more preferred one with no problem. We had a cheap but perfect rose wine with our meal that we couldn't finished (so much pasta for two people!!) and finished with a large smorgasbord of desserts and a shot of flavored vodka they called limoncello liqueur. I would definitely return, as long as I have someone to share all that food with!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiDeDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasta B, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Didedavis, Thank you so much for this great review. It is always wonderful to read how people experience our restaurant. I will pass on these compliments for sure. I am sorry that the food was too much for you, but some people think it is too little and for some it is too much :). We try to take the middle road. We hope to see you again if you are in the neighborhood someday :). Kind regards, Margot Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

You can't order a single dish. You have to order one of the pre-set menus. You have choices within the preset menu but you if you are not a big eater that feels like paying 50 euros per plate this is not the place for you. I understand that there is value in the entertainment, and it was truly lovely. I should have studied the website to see if there was mention of this fact. I don't eat that much and feel that it was unexpected.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judithleasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasta B, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Judith, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that the concept was not good for you. However we do have two menus where you can choose from. Did you also see the 37 euros one? Or, if you only like main course, it is of course also possible to only have main course for 20 euros. We do really try to make sure everyone has an option. It is true that you choose three pastas of the menu as a kind of tasting menu, but we always try to make acceptable portions. I would love it if you would come back to us to see if one of these options might be something for you. If you might have any other questions or remarks, please e-mail us at office@pastaebasta.nl. Kind regards, Margot Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pasta e Basta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pasta e Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing