We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual but interesting”
Review of Body Worlds

Body Worlds
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24,38*
and up
Body Worlds Amsterdam 'The Happiness Project...
Ranked #45 of 574 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Gunther von Hagens’ BODY WORLDS: The Happiness Project in the heart of Amsterdam tells the amazing story of our own body and the impact of happiness on our health. More than 200 anatomical specimens of real human bodies show the complexity, resilience and vulnerability of the body. Join the 40 million people around the world who have already seen the exhibition and been on this fascinating voyage of discovery through the human body.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have never been anyway like this but it was so fascinating.
A museum full of real dead bodies, showing you the insides of the body with different themes per floor.
Circulation, genitals, respiratory etc.
Well worth a visit.

Thank LouiseHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LouiseHampshire,

Thank you for your lovely words and recommendations.It is a joy for us to hear how much you have enjoyed your visit and that you took the time to wonder around and explore the complete exhibition.We hope you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"human body"
in 540 reviews
"happiness project"
in 111 reviews
"body works"
in 85 reviews
"dead bodies"
in 41 reviews
"blood pressure"
in 36 reviews
"gunther von"
in 30 reviews
"amazing exhibition"
in 25 reviews
"different parts"
in 28 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 96 reviews
"eye opening"
in 40 reviews
"interesting place"
in 23 reviews
"on display"
in 49 reviews
"top floor"
in 28 reviews
"audio guide"
in 42 reviews
"visiting amsterdam"
in 25 reviews
"anatomy"
in 165 reviews
"donated"
in 118 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 3 583 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely worth a visit, very surreal. Nothing like you'll ever do again soon! Very factual with hints of humour.

Thank Hamon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hamon12,

We want to thank you for sharing this great review. We do agree with you, Body Worlds is a unique exhibition, "surreal" and we are very happy you got the chance to come inside and take a look. We hope the visit did inspire you and we also hope you had a fantastic stay in the Netherlands!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very interesting and educational museum. If you are freaked out easily then I would suggest not going, as when you really think about the fact they are real people it can gross you out. There is a lot to read and learn and some interactive sections which was great. I would say it is over priced for what it is but it is definitely worth going to see.

Thank Sky1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sky1222,

Thank you for your lovely words.It is a joy for us to hear how much you have enjoyed your visit and that you took the time to wander around and explore the complete exhibition. We hope you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had seen the artists work on TV so decided to visit. Wasnt sure what to expect. Thought the exhibition might have been designed just to shock but we couldnt be more wrong. Very informative displays, artistically brilliant and very well done. The displays were not gruesome at all. All respectfully done but mind blowingly clever. Very well lit. Good interactives. Highly recommend a visit

Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had during your visit to Body Worlds with us. It makes us happy to read that you thought it had " Very informative displays, artistically brilliant and very well done. ".We hope you had a fantastic time during the rest of your stay in the Netherlands and we also hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first plastinated body was a bit uuhhg, but the whole concept is very interesting. 7 floors in total with lots of information, explanations, links to happiness and how it can be created. Great exhibition.

Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ingrid M,

Thank you for sharing the interesting and informative experience you had while visiting Body Worlds! It is indeed amazing to see how the happiness can directly affect our health and to learn a lot more about how our body really works in a unique way.

We hope you had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and we hope to have you back soon for another inspiring and HAPPY visit!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Body Worlds also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Body Worlds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing