We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Axo Houseboat

living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
living room
living room
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
sunset view
exterior of boat
part of the Light Festival 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
rhys1803
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

When in Amsterdam, why not stay in a houseboat. After finally getting around to reviewing our stay on the Axo houseboat i can say it has lived long in the memory. The location is very good just off the main city central meaning easy access to public transport. The interior was nicely decorated and cleaned to a high standard. Simon was a brilliant host explaining the local amenities and house rules (and even getting up at 2am when one of our group was locked out). All in all well worth the money for the stay.

Only negative is boat tours can see directly into the living room if the blinds aren't closed, but we didnt mind too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a house boat
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLouis
EGYPT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Experience & Location”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Definitely a much better experience than staying in hotels. Great location. Very friendly and helpful host. Would definitely recommend it

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niamhalwe...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TIRED houseboat. I would not recommend!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, we did not get off to a good start. We were left to our own devices to actually locate the houseboat. On arrival, it was found that the houseboat was dirty with mould on interior window frames, not dusted for weeks and damp near the radiator. The decor was very Tired. AWFUL smell from the toilet/bathroom. When looking at the photos of the boat on trip advisor, it was clearly photoshopped. Gene and Simon were very unhelpful and told us to go when we complained. Health and safety to entrance and exit to boat was very poor. No external lighting and right onto a cycle path. I THINK THE BEST THING FOR THIS HOUSEBOAT WOULD BE TO TOW IT OUT TO OPEN SEA AND FOR THE DUTCH NAVY TO USE IT AS TARGET PRACTICE. An underwhelming experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Very sorry you didn't like the accommodation you booked. Yes we didn't get off to a good start at all. You found fault in everything the moment you arrived. The boat is as advertised and the photos are not photoshopped. For some reason you just didn't like it. And that's okay, a houseboat is not for everyone. Maybe you expected everything to be brand new but i'm afraid it gets a lot of (satisfied) guests visit which does take a toll. We try our best to keep it suitable for our guests. The damp you mention was a little stain about 5cm wide on the wooden floor board where the radiator HAD leaked. i got the impression you expected we would have replaced the all the floor boards just for this little stain and that we repaint the walls every time a guest checks out (there are some scuff marks from previous guests) and sure you will find dust somewhere if you look hard enough but the main areas are clean. i checked the bathroom when you told me but couldn't smell what is was that was so offensive. And yes the boat entrance steps out on to a cycle path. Amsterdam is a city of bikes, shocker.
So yes there are some issues which will be addressed in winter but were they really so bad? Are the other 16 good reviews on this site all lies? By the way i just suggested that if you were SO unhappy, you didn't have to stay. I never told you to go. You can't please everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Noisy But a Good Stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of four stayed for 4 nights earlier this month. It was comfortable enough and is very well located in the city center. About a 15 minute walk to Dam Square and closer to Tram lines, flower market, Rembrandt house, etc. The novelty and excitement of staying in a houseboat outweighed the negatives, but there were a few negatives.

It is very noisy. In the evenings it's sort of like living next to a floating frat party. Lots of loud singing, not a little yelling, tour boats going by all the time. This is kind of fun before going to bed and annoying after you go to bed. I got by with ear plugs, but the noise did affect my sleep. I think this might be one of the busier canal areas in the city, and can't help but wonder if one could find a more quiet houseboat experience with a little research.

It opens onto a bicycle freeway. The only way in and out is to cross a bicycle freeway. if you are new to Amsterdam, beware the bicycle. They don't like to stop, and motorized scooters also come along. Perhaps my biggest criticism is that when you check-in, you will be told how to get to the houseboat from the hotel -- a short walk -- but you will not be warned about the bicycle freeway, which looks to a newcomer like a sidewalk. It is potentially quite dangerous, and I really think the owners ought to walk this route thinking as a newcomer -- unaccustomed to Amsterdam -- might think, and then figure out how to carefully explain the safest way to get to the houseboat. Again, a little research might find a houseboat experience that doesn't involve crossing a bicycle freeway to get in and out.

I didn't think the owner was quite as accessible as others have although he was friendly and mildly informative. For example, I struggled quite a bit early on with the key to the inside door. The trick is that you have to pull the door out a little to get the key out when you lock it. It would have taken just a few seconds to explain that to me and would have saved me some trouble. The shower took us some time to figure out as well.

I would suggest doing a bit of shopping around. But overall I'm glad to have had the experience of staying here, and it was certainly memorable for the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location, watching the boats go by during the early evening
Liked least: The noise in the late evening, the dangerous bike crossing getting in and out
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stodnfren...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very quaint”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stopped for 3 nights . The owner met us and was very helpful. Boat is lovely. Perfect location and perfect base. Bedroom Isn't massive but ideal for a few nights break. The only thing I would say to ladies with long hair is take a hair dryer as it takes a while with the one that's on the boat but that's by no means a criticism at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing