We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Himalayan Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 263 of 4 392 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We warmly welcome you to the Himalayan Kitchen restaurant. Our restaurant has been named after the highest mountains in the world.The Nepali and Indian kitchen relies on the age-old art of mixing herbs and spices. Just as ancient is the strict preparation criteria that vary according to climate, products available in a certain region, religion, and culture.Besides the written and unwritten laws of the Nepali and Indian kitchen, we try to also let you encounter the unique taste of our own kitchen. We developed this taste over the years we have already been working in Amsterdam. Our chef cook has an exceptional culinary talent and uses fresh ingredients, unique and refined spice combinations, and an impeccable preparation manner to provide you with a freshly-prepared meal that.You can indicate your desired spice level and our cooks will be sure that the dishes are prepared accordingly.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had Dal Baat. The paneer saag and chana was soooo tasty... Mixed starter was OK. Mango lassi was tasty as usual

Thank Gayathri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surya Raj G, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thanks for visiting at Himalayan Kitchen restaurant Amsterdam and indeed thank you so much for your great review, which will help us to serve our service to our valuable guest.
Thank you so much once again. Have a great day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018

The food was absolutely wonderful, from preparation to presentation, very pleasing. We especially enjoyed the special Khukuri Rum and salads served along with it was great (even i took photos so we could try to replicate at home).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surya Raj G, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your response, we are so pleased that enjoyed your visit with us at Himalayan Kitchen Amsterdam, the authentic Nepalese and Indian Restaurant. We hope you travel to Amsterdam again soon and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite table for you.

Himalayan Kitchen Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Really good food and the best Nepalese I've had in Amsterdam. Good to combine with de Filmhallen if you want to avoid the masses.

1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surya Raj G, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Robin,
Thank you so much for your response, we are so pleased that enjoyed your visit with us at Himalayan Kitchen Amsterdam, the authentic Nepalese and Indian Restaurant. We hope you travel to Amsterdam again soon and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite table for you.

Himalayan Kitchen Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

A long time ago we had the same food in Nepal, real authentic, especially Veg Momo and Gorkha Fish Curry. Cheese and Garlic naan was just perfect. Food was cooked with passion. Simple the best restaurant in Amsterdam. We will go again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sharma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surya Raj G, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sharma,
Thank you so much for your response, we are so pleased that enjoyed your visit with us at Himalayan Kitchen Amsterdam, the authentic Nepalese and Indian Restaurant. We hope you travel to Amsterdam again soon and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite table for you.

Himalayan Kitchen Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

When the foodmarket in Filmhallen is overcrowded as often is the case, you might consider stepping out onto Ten Katestraat (daily market), where you find this little Himalayan restaurant. It serves recipes from Nepal to Iran, mostly India. The food is nice and price are reasonable. The soundlevel is low. So you can understand each other.
Recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing