We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 380)
Filter reviews
1 381 results
Traveller rating
459
551
220
84
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
551
220
84
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse the ground floor roof terrace nice hotel recommend this hotel within walking distance minute walk bed was very comfortable reception staff museum district stayed here for nights tram stop visit amsterdam public transport central station dam square centre
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 381 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights from 03/11 - 06/11 and I don't think I can fault the hotel at all! We stayed in the large penthouse with the terrace and we weren't disappointed. The room was very clean and spacious and decorated well, with a lovely bathroom with a deep bath and amazing views across Amsterdam. Having bath robes and slippers available in the room was also a nice touch. The TV had access to Netflix and Youtube which was nice when relaxing in the evening. We did not want to leave!!!
The staff were very helpful and kind, and managed to give us recommendations and directions for a variety of activities and transport into the centre. It's about a half an hour walk into the centre, but goes very quickly with the lovely scenery and canals.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again, in fact, I am already looking at returning sometime in January!
Thanks to the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank ellsf_210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We were returning from a trip to Africa and needed a nice hotel for the evening as our flight schedule didn’t coincide well for a day return trip to the US. The staff was extremely helpful in getting us accommodated with the tram routes to get to get us to where we were eating dinner.
The room was very small even by European standards. The double bed was in a corner and the only way to get in it was to climb over the top. I prefer to get into the bed by the side. Clean and well kept. The room was on a corner and had floor to ceiling windows so the room never really heated up.
The staff was welcoming and set up our cab for our early morning departure.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LFalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDAmsterdam, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear LFalonso,

Thank you for your rating- recent stay and for your time to share your kind words for our staff and our hotel.

Glad to read that our staff stood out from your stay and indeed we are available 24/7 available to make your stay memorable.

We do offer 6 different type of rooms depending on the demand and availability prices are various.Our penthouses on the 6th floor provides specious room with unique terrace and view from Amsterdam.

In regards the lay out of your room, is something that we are taking into consideration and very soon there are some plans to be changed.
The heating and cooling part of the room works with air-condition. Every room have their units and each guest can adjust the request temperature.

We are welcome all of our guest feedback in order to improve our operations.

Once more thank you for staying with us and safe travels.

All the best,
Georgios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

The location of the hotel is great within 10 minute walk to Leidseplein. The room was large and spacious, there were two televisions and a sort of separate area for the large bed, the bed was comfy and the sofa-bed was also very good for a sofa-bed. The sofa bed in the living area was big enough for our two kids. The bathroom was also quite big with a walk in shower. There were a few loose tiles but overall was well planned out. The rooms are bit bit dark, perhaps due to the dark decor and that we had to keep the curtains closed being in view of the courtyard., but it is still a nice room. The hotel is connected to a residential building and occupies the 1st and 6th floor. The family rooms are on the ground floor and look out into a courtyard. There are many restaurants and stores in the area to grab a bite to eat, so we did not get breakfast at the hotel. They also offer a minibar package if you want. We found it easier to pick up what the kids wanted as we went along and kept it in the mini fridge in the room. Overall, for the price, location and the parking facilities,I would stay here again with my family. Although, I do recommend that they dust the lamp shades above the bed as they are a little dusty.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank cdelangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDAmsterdam, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear cdelangen,

Thank you for the recent stay at Grand downtown hotel and for your time to provide the feedback.

Glad to read that the overall experience match your expectations and thank you for the rating.

We have addressed your comment to our housekeeping team in regards the dust in the lamp shades in order to avoid similar comments from future guests.

We welcome all feedback from our guests in order to improve our operations.

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

All the best,
Georgios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Lovely penthouse room with a big balcony made the stay perfect!

Very nice placement, you can walk to anything from the hotel.

A few technical issues with the parking, but it is not the hotel responsible for that. The reader didn't recognize the card neither on the way in or on the way out.

Breakfast was OK, nothing more than that. Bad coffee, but there are great places for coffee in the surroundings.

Room tip: Try to get a penthouse. A bit more expensive, but so worth it!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 420runem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We are staying in this hotel tonight. When we checked in yesterday, we got the smallest room I have ever stayed in in my life. It is a room for one person. Two people can’t turn around in it. This morning, I paid for an upgraded room, which is great. It has a deck with a great view of the city, but the tv doesn’t work! I like to watch CNN! The front desk person came to the room and reset it. Now it is working, somewhat?. If you stay here, get one of the better rooms. Would I stay here again?.......No.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank chuck43p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDAmsterdam, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Chuck43p,

Thank you for your recent stay at Grand downtown hotel and for your time to share your feedback.

We are sorry to read after the upgrade of your room that you faced certain issue with the TV. When you reported my colleague checked it right away and the TV was working. Hope when you arrived back last eve got this information before you went to your room.

We welcome all the guest feedback in order to improve our operations and we take action on the spot in order to make your stay comfortable.

In regards the size of the room, we have 6 different types that we offer depending of the availability and price. Penthouses are the best rooms that we offer with panoramic view of Amsterdam and other facilities to make your stay unique.

All the best and safe travels,
Georgios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews