We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Treasure”

Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn
Reserve with
Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #567 of 4 635 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn is located at the Rembrandtplein in Amsterdam and is inspired by the beauty and master craft of Rembrandt van Rijn. In a cosmopolitan atmosphere with open kitchen and digital artwork of Rembrandt, guests can enjoy dishes for dinner and lunch. In the weekends there is live jazzy music and also a DJ. Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn is the ultimate location for a d divers evening with friends at the bar, a cup of coffee on the terrace or a nice lunch or dinner in the restaurant.
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We took a walk around the square looking at the menus and the different options available, and decided to try the Van Rijn. Hidden behind café umbrellas, it was only once we walked into the restaurant that we suddenly got that wow moment.

The interior is impressive, with one wall of paintings (some digital - watch the changes), and the bar with its array of bottles against a subdued white light.

The steaks were excellent, and the vegetables were well prepared and made for a memorable meal.

This is not a cheap place to eat, we had a main course, vegetable side, and bottle of good wine for slightly less than 100 Euros (tip extra of course). However, you get what you pay for, and I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant for the ambience and good food.

We felt very relaxed here, and after the meal we retired to the bar for a few more casual drinks.

Two days later we were passing the restaurant and dropped in for a few glasses of wine. Very relaxed, we would recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EasyBob_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchen_Bar_Van_Rijn, Manager at Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear EasyBob_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review.
It makes the team very happy that you enjoyed the food and ambiance of our restaurant.
We hope to welcome you again at Van Rijn, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Kind regards,

Team Van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

An almost perfect location on Rembrandt Square for a sunny day. We intended to stop for only a coffee, but spent a glorious 5 hours in the sunshine, sat at an outside table watching the world go by, and ordering lunch and wine. The fennel soup was truly delicious, and our mains were very tasty. We had to call for service a few times, but that was understandable as it became extremely busy. The staff were all very friendly & professional. A lovely spot to while away an afternoon.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchen_Bar_Van_Rijn, Manager at Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear BenYorkie,

Thank you for taking to the time to leave this lovely review.
It makes the whole team very happy that you left satisfied and smiling.
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Team Van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a cool place around Rembrandtplein and this was a great choice. It is a huge restaurant with a very impressive bar and an upper floor. We ordered 3 main courses and some side dishes which were very good, beautifully presented. The service was super nice and attentive. We loved it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 12 041 204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchen_Bar_Van_Rijn, Manager at Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear 12041204,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
It's encouraging to hear that you enjoyed the food and restaurant.
We hope you also enjoyed the rest of your stay in our city Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Team Van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We made no reservation but went to see if there was a table available. Front of house found us a table, but the service from then on was terrible we waited for at least 20 minutes before we were given a menu which we had to ask for. Then waited another 15 minutes to order our food by which time my husband had been given his wine but I had not received a cocktail menu, so I could not order a drink. We ordered and waited just under an hour for food, when the food arrived it was lukewarm but we ate it as we were really hungry, only once did someone ask us if we were ok and then when we had finished our meal, the table was cleared and did not ask us if we wanted dessert. My husband asked to see a dessert menu and ordered another wine. The wine never came.
We could not fault the taste of the food but the service and wait let our dining experience down.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchen_Bar_Van_Rijn, Manager at Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Jackie G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Team Van Rijn has a top priority of providing our guests with an unique dining experience, so we are very sorry to learn we were not able to meet your expectations.
We will use your feedback to improve our services.
Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Team Van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Very very nice food, we had risotto. Also the staff was friendly, service was good and quire fast. Location geat!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank NemiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchen_Bar_Van_Rijn, Manager at Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear NemiL,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
It makes the whole team very happy when we can make your visit memorable.
We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Team Van Rijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Weesp, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing