We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great way to travel”
other travellers have booked this property
Wharf House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway Table with maps and information in the hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway
Table with maps and information in the hallway
Toilet and bathroom
The bed
The bedroom
The bedroom in the evening
The living room upstairs
Living with pantry in the back
Living room, desk / table view
Wharf House plus surroundings
Wharf House plus surroundings
Sloop for making private boattrips
Street view Wharf House
Wharf House garden, you can sit here
Look at the canal from the garden
Take a private boat trip
Rent our bicycles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
catalina3...
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great way to travel”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have never stayed in anything other than a hotel, but on this trip I wanted a "local" experience and a place to stay that was larger than a hotel room. My initial contact and all following correspondence was responded to very quickly and professionally. I had made arrangements to be picked up at the airport, this went very smoothly. The apartment is wonderful. It is spotless! It is furnished in "Ikea sheik" furnishings. All of the furniture was in great condition and very comfortable. Most important the bed was very comfortable and the shower perfect. The towels were full sized and fluffy. The apartment is very well equipped with a small butlers kitchen.
The neighborhood was charming, convenient and very quiet. Just a short walk to the busy center (15 minutes to central station) and all sights. We tried some of the local restaurants that Wouter suggested- the food and vibe was great and very reasonable.

I did not know what to expect and did not understand the concept of renting an apartment like this. This apartment is run like a business and used exclusively as a rental property. There is a wall of sight seeing information and maps. The rental also included a complimentary cell phone which came in so handy. I am a very particular and frequent traveler. I was willing to pay a much higher price for a 4+ star hotel but wanted to experience all of the benefits of a VRBO. The Wharf House was an excellent value and perfect. I highly recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, bed, convenience of having an apartment.
Liked least: Although a fan is supplied the apartment is not air conditioned. We experienced some of the hottest weather of the summer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robandpat...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a delightful and quiet neighborhood near the canal!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a delightful location in the Prinseneiland Island area. We were less than a thirty-minute walk from the main tourist attractions and we had the canal on one side and a quiet neighborhood on the other. The only noise we encountered during the day was the laughter of children swimming and diving in the canal. The location is a stretch for folks who are elderly or do not like to walk, but it suited us perfectly.
The rooms are spacious and clean and the price was quite reasonable considering the exorbitant hotel prices in the tourist area. The family room upstairs is large and has an angular couch to stretch out and relax. We stored our breakfast in the small refrigerator and ate at the large glass-top table every morning. WiFi reception was excellent. The proprietors even have a small collection of movie DVD’s to view. We took advantage of that after a long day of tourist activities. The upstairs is connected to the downstairs by a metal spiral staircase. The downstairs area has separate shower and toilet rooms and the closets are deep and spacious. The queen bed was comfortable. We slept well after our many sightseeing activities. The main entry area on the ground floor has a bookcase with many books, business cards and brochures on things to see, do and eat in the region.
The proprietors, Woulter and Lisbeth, were friendly, helpful and respected our privacy. They had great restaurant recommendations and provided us with a full array of phone numbers in case we had any questions or needs. We used their services for a drive to the airport for our departure. We regret not taking advantage of Woulter's canal tour in his small boat. In short, we would not hesitate to stay at the Wharf House again when our wanderlust takes us back to Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An affordable apartment in a quiet neighborhood- slightly off the main tourist path.
Liked least: Satisfied all of our expectations.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rovers3
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Delighted!”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our experience at the Wharf House was wonderful. The house itself, Wouter's help & warm welcome & the location combined to make it a stay I'd recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet location without being too far from all the sights. A gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the house itself
Liked least: The lack of a fan in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrd_and_m...
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect property with wonderful hosts in tranquil yet central location.”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Review #13770211 “Wooden Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam”


A perfect property on a tranquil island yet a short walk from everything.
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

What a wonderful place to stay for our first trip to Amsterdam! How can one possibly be within walking distance of so much and yet to feel like you're on a tranquil island? The answer is actually to be on a tranquil island, as is this outstanding property. A five minute walk across a quaint one-lane drawbridge brings you to a grocery market and a tram stop; a ten-minute walk takes you to the bustling center of the city. The immaculate unit is exactly as described, and Wouter and Liesbeth are kind, considerate, and immensely helpful hosts. In summary: Perfect in every way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Property itself; wonderful hosts; location.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoitiersD...
poitiers
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Village within the town”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Wharf house was all we expected. Very clean, well equipped,and warm.
Wouter and Leisbeth were on hand to welcome us, and took time to explain everything, as well as suggesting various restaurants in the area.
We had two small problems with the heating tripping out, but Wouter dealt with this extremely efficiently, and he made us feel as if this was OUR house, and that he was intruding. We felt that was a nice attitude to have.
Do NOT worry about the distance of this little island from the centre.
It's quite delightfull, and a step back in time.
You can catch the 18,21 or22 bus from Buiten Oranjestraat to the Central Station, and then onward with virtually any bus or tram to all of the attractions......when you pay once you can use the ticket for an hour;
One word about transport.It costs 5,90 per ticket each, so it's much better to buy a day pass at 7,50 each,and use it as many times as you wish. If you happen to be going regularly, buy the OV chipkaart, which is rechargeable.
Should you wish to walk,it will only take about 15 minutes to Dam Square.
All in all, a lovely place to stay, quiet enough to get a good nights sleep, and yet near enough to feel part of the City.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large bed, Duplex very light with good windows.Secure and safe part of town.Good heating.Cleanliness.
Liked least: Shower room a liitle cramped........but I am six feet two inches !!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing