We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Located High on the List”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
William B
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Located High on the List”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The apartment is located high on the list for two reasons: 1) it is located in a prime area for anyone who wants to be in the center of Amsterdam but not the center of noise; and 2) it is located high up, I mean way up, in the canal house on the Herengracht.

The apartment is nice, although you must make do with a couple of oddities, especially the toilet which sits in a most unusual location and is the least comfortable and noisiest toilet I have used in years. I tended to go down two flights of stairs to use a more comfortable toilet.

The apartment is more B&B than rented apartment; the owners bring breakfast up in the morning and come clean while you are out. I prefer an apartment that is private, with private entrance, rather than the B&B experience. That said, the owners are quite nice and accommodating, and if you enjoy a chat so do they, you will feel very welcome in their home.

The kitchen is spacious for what it is. The bathroom, which is the corridor from living room to bedroom, is ok, but that toilet is right there to view from the bed or the dining table. There is another door from the bedroom to the living room but using it is like leaving the apartment and going back in through the living room door, don't forget your key!

If you are more of a B&B person than private rental apartment, I would certainly recommend the Herengracht Apt to you. It is in a superb location with lovely views down to the famous canal. The bedroom is in the back and, therefore quiet, and certainly large enough. There are very steep steps up to a super rooftop terrace with views all around.

If you don't mind stairs and a lot of them, and a toilet that will wake everyone in the house - the owners said the noise of the toilet is how they know their guests are in or not - then make your visit to Amsterdam feel like you are on top of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is in my favorite part of Amsterdam.
Liked least: No wi-fi service at all, climbing those stairs, not having a private entrance, and that awful toilet.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alane J
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
“CARR! Absolutely the best B & B!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Excellent location! Right on the canal at Seven Bridges and a walk over one of the bridges brought us to Rembrandt Square. The apartment was well furnished ...so was the refrigerator after the breakfast! (The flip key ratings understate the abundance)
We spent our leisure time on the terrace, which allowed for splendid views of Amsterdam.
The absolute best part of the holiday was time spent with our hosts! Warm, inviting, knowledgeable, with quick wit...We shared many stories and laughs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen D
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique canal house experience.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was the find of our trip to Amsterdam. It's an apartment in an old canal house, in the nicest area. The host and hostess made sure we were well cared for. The breakfast was amazing, and enough left overs for lunch. They were also knowledgeable about everything to see and do in Amsterdam. I wish we'd had more time to stay. Eating breakfast watching canal boats float by 3 floors below was amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host/hostess and location.
Liked least: Lots of stairs!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2012
Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for the wonderful reviews you gave.We hope you enjoyed sailing through the Netherlands. We thought about you a lot. It was really nice to meet you, with your nice humor.

On Monday I have to go to Court, I have worked hard on my defend, I will call you next week, when I have more time. Say hallo to Bruce.

Warm regards from me and Chan,

Gijsje
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing