We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$223
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel CC(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$350/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$266
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Casa(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dutch Design Hotel Artemis(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1 010
US$924
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2 179)
Filter reviews
2 179 results
Traveller rating
750
939
313
84
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
939
313
84
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloterdijk stationguest kitchenhostel feelspar shopminute train journeybunk bedsfamily roomschiphol airportfree wifitransport linksbudget hotelday passtriple roomhotel is situatedyogurtcentrecity
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2 179 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The funny thing about trying to be a people friendly hotel by providing everything in the lobby and nothing in the rooms can backfire as was found when we stayed here for 3 nights. This so called hotel caters majorly to large school / college groups and the rooms look like dorms. There is absolutely nothing available in the room (not even a telephone to call the reception) and the room size will leave you scratching your head.

The good things though make up for the terrible house keeping (apparently outsourced):
- Good breakfast
- Free Guest Kitchen
- Very friendly front desk
- Games rooms for kids
- Excellent bar
- Awesome location (next to the Sloterdjik Station)

The lifts too were very different to what one is used to. You need to choose the floor while calling for the lift. there are no button in the lift (can be a new learning experience for some folks). There is a departmental store (Spar) close by where you can get stuff to cook yourself in the community kitchen.

Would I stay again if needed? Not really, there are other hotels in the vicinity which could provide a better experience specially in the services department!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vyom1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you for leaving such a detailed review. We do indeed work with groups of students, but that should not be in detriment of your comfort. You have already seen that our staff is already present and ready to help you, ask us for whatever you need. The same goes for housekeeping and even the size of your room; if the dimensions are not convenient for you, we will do everything in our power to find a more suitable dormitory.

In short, we can provide a considerably better experience if you inform us about your needs during your stay. Please keep it in mind if you reconsider staying with us.

With many thanks,

Your MEININGER Amsterdam Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located just over 5 minutes by train outside of Amsterdam Centraal, this hotel offers a discount stay in a good location. The rooms were clean and spacious and the service was very good. I'd recommend staying here if you are looking to save some money compared with the rates charged closer to Amsterdam City Centre.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Posca92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your awesome review and high rating. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay and, also, that overall you were so satisfied with us. At the same time, it is much appreciated the fact that you recommend us. We take this as a great compliment!

Looking forward to welcome you once again soon, all the best!

the MEININGER Amsterdam City West team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is bad and there isn'tenough to feed everyone and the plates are dirty. The clenaout service doesn't sweep the floor and they have let a wine bottle in our table. Some room cards doesn't work anlld The heating too. In the conclusion i don't recomend going to this hotel the staff is unfeidnly and i haven't enjoyed staying here

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ferransalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to have delivered a service that didn't meet your expectations. Please don't settle for an insufficient cleaning or bad customer service, go directly to management with your complaints and demand your rights as a guest.

Hoping for a second chance to welcome you properly,

Your MEININGER Amsterdam Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok hotel for groups that won't be spending much time in their rooms. The rooms are dorms, the hotel itself reminds me of uni. Some dorms have space and some are very tiny. The layout is rather strange. But ideal location As The station is right next to it so easy to get to Dam central, about 5 minutes on train. The breakfast wasn't really for me, I preferred going to central getting breaky. But overall it's an ok place to stay if you are in groups.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank brinajohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. As you noticed, not all our rooms have the same size. If availabilities allow it, we will be glad to find a more suitable dormitory for you. If you wish to prepare your own breakfast, our guest kitchen is always open for you.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Your MEININGER Amsterdam Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a small football club - 16 lads under 18 and 8 adults. This hotel was absolutely perfect for our needs. Ideally positioned for transport links to the city centre. The train station is literally 200 metres away.
The rooms were adequate for our needs. Clean and warm.
The breakfast was self service and perfect for teenagers to help themselves.
Particular thanks go to the very accommodating bar staff. They were absolutely superb and helped make this trip so memorable.
Although the queue to check in was long the staff are quick and responsive.
Would we use again or recommend? Definitely
Ideal for any travellers visiting Amsterdam on a budget.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Rambowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you for your lovely words. Our bar staff sends you their greetings. They, like the rest of our staff, will be glad to welcome you if you wish to visit us one more time.

Best wishes,

Your MEININGER Amsterdam Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews