We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo
Ranked #32 of 603 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stroll among the shady trees, admire the diversity of plants and animals, travel to the stars, enjoy our heritage. Visit ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo and experience nature right in the city centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Very good program! Totally worth it! All kinds of animals! For 2, € 48. A little expensive, but when inside, i forgot about it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Famaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6 418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"butterfly house"
in 173 reviews
"sea lions"
in 74 reviews
"big cats"
in 57 reviews
"lion enclosure"
in 49 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 46 reviews
"wide variety of animals"
in 45 reviews
"animals seem"
in 42 reviews
"baby elephant"
in 41 reviews
"few hours"
in 103 reviews
"walk around"
in 52 reviews
"sunny day"
in 36 reviews
"monkeys"
in 251 reviews
"planetarium"
in 225 reviews
"species"
in 108 reviews
"insectarium"
in 36 reviews
"habitat"
in 74 reviews
"jaguar"
in 66 reviews
Filter

201 - 205 of 6 418 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

It seems that we visit the zoo in every new city we visit. I can't say this was our favorite zoo out of all the one's we've visited (Singapore takes the prize for that) but this zoo was well liked by all of my kids. Lots of shaded areas which is nice. Easy to get to using public transportation. We spent a half day there and that was easily enough time to see everything.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We visited here in June 2018, there is a lot to see and plenty of space, it wasn't that busy on Saturday when we went and it was worth the visit

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mattjj27671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We went here because we had to wait until our room was ready in the hotel. It's expensive enough......it was €48 for two adults. That €48 includes a €2 donation for a map of the zoo. There is plenty of animals on display but the enclosures seem very small and so some of the animals look very sad and cramped. I heard this is one of the oldest Zoo's in Europe but in my opinion the enclosures need to be bigger for some of the animals like the lions and lizards. It's worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 89karlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

This is the best Zoo i have been to. It has. A wide range of animals including an aquarium and butterfly enclosure. We spent half a day their but could easily have stayed the whole day. Well work a look if you have the time.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank AndrewDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to ARTIS Amsterdam Royal Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing