We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$327
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$558/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$236
US$225
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Casa(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$937
US$817
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 299)
Filter reviews
1 299 results
Traveller rating
354
537
276
87
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
537
276
87
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball hoopvan gogh museumgreat locationbreakfast roomtram stoprooms are smallsteep stairsquirky hotelsmall liftamsterdam signhard boiled eggsminute walkhamsmajor museumsquiet streetdouble bedcold meats
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1 299 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Booked a small room which was bigger than expected, amenities from "Dead Clean" were awesome.
Room had view of Rijksmuseum and the entire hotel had a very interesting style, full of artsy decoration, everything from comics to classical art.
Stairs are very steep, elevator to the higher levels recommended.
Beer prices are Amsterdam level: 6,50 for a craft beer - see photo.
Staff was helpful with directions and tips.
Location is great: quiet street, 2 minutes by foot to the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum, less than 10 minutes to Leidseplein.
Would definitely recommend.
Slight deduction on service: bar staff on the first day didn't really know what to do with our requests.
Breakfast OK, everything you need, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Felix,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Dead clean, our brand gives the guest a good FRESH feeling!
Hopefully, we can welcome you soon back in Amsterdam.

Wam regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great hotel near Rjiksmuseum, so very near the city center but in quiet street. Boutique looking rooms very nice unique style. Hotel has elevator which is also great as it also have very narrow stairs :-) Tasty breakfast and helpful hotel staff.
Only real minus is lack of air conditioning,so the room get very hot, even with the ventilator you need to keep it going all night and possible major part of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for room on opposite side of the street, it will be cooler than one to the street.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are happy to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel. The urban, local style which we Always try to give our guest were definitely your style!
Our staff is Always in for good local tips, help and information to make your trip awesome!

Hopefully, we can welcome you soon back in Amsterdam!

Take care.

Warm regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

The room is little more than a cell, with one side of the bed up against the wall in order to provide space to walk by. Basic in the extreme and not at all as advertised. Entry to the room is through a back passageway and the walls seem a trifle thin as we can hear our neighbours. It is in the Museum district but there are better options.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wiljib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telka K, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Wilijib,
Thank you for taking the time sharing your experience at Max Brown online. I am sorry to read that the room did not lived up to your expectations and you that you feel wrongly informed before arrival. Did you contact our team during your stay to discuss your discomfort? We are more than happy to try to find a solution for our guests; happy and satisfied guests are our highest priority.
I do hope that in time, you reconsider your position and decide to stay with us again: maybe in a larger room category? Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any further questions or points you would like to discuss. We would love to hear from you.

Wishing you all the best from sunny Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Max Brown museum square is the most stunning, fresh and urban hotel I have ever stayed in. From warm welcome at reception, a gorgeous full on continental breakfast every morning, stunning views of the city streets from our window, this hotel is truly wonderful. With mirrors drowning the corridors and wacky and weird room features (including a basketball hoop n balls on the wall in our room!) the hotel is full of hidden secrets and gems. A perfect location too, situated right in the centre of Amsterdam, a minute walk to a tram link and right on Museum Square. Definitely 100% recommend this hotel :)

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Grace,

WAUW, great to have you special feedback about your stay here in Amsterdam! Thank you for your time and we are really happy that you felt home at Max Brown during your busy city trip here! The decoration are typical the concept of the Max Brown Hotels!
How many time did you hit the basketball? :)

Hope to welcome you soon back!!

Warm regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at max brown for the first time and we was very happy. our room was super clean , bed was comfortable and loved the decor. A good breakfast in the morning. All the staff had great advice and where all very helpful. If I was to say anything bad it would be that there was no air conditioning and it was very hot at night so didn’t sleep very well but this is a very small negative. We both thought the hotel overall was lovely and we’d more than likely stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nitaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Nitaxx,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback after you quality time weekend with your husband! Hopefully, you Always relaxed in this big city, which means a lot of hiking. We as stay Always try to make your stay unforgettable.

Did you informed us about the room air conditioning? We always provide guests with a extra fan to cool the room!

Hope to welcome you back here!

Warm regards,

Telka Knapen- Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews