We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional home cooking ”
Review of Hap-Hmm

Hap-Hmm
Ranked #195 of 4 624 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I first visited this restaurant last year on our first trip to Amsterdam, we’re back in town again and have eaten here twice in 2 days. Amazing home cooked food and really reasonably priced. Grandmothers meatball is a favourite for us.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank karen118_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is a small restaurant which looks like it's been converted from somebody's front room. A cosy, homely feel to it, they don't take reservations but within 30 mins of opening it was full and queues had formed outside. 'nuff said. It seemed to attract an eclectic mix of diners - old, young, locals tourists, families, couples, individuals. The menu is small and it's incredible value by any city's standards, let alone Amsterdam. It's Dutch comfort food, no frills, no pretence. Food you might eat at home. Big portions, big flavours. We had the meatballs and stewed beef which came with creamy mashed potato and a truckload of veg. It was wonderful. And with a beer each and tip, only €50 for 2 people.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NSM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We knew it was a popular restaurant so arrived just before 8.30pm closing time to avoid the queue. We were greeted and seated by the boss and really enjoyed our meal. We ordered beef stew and beer chick which were both really yummy.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank escapexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We arrived on opening at 5pm as we had seen the queues the night before. The restaurant filled up within 20 mins...tourists and locals alike. The food was in generous portions and so, so good. Proper, hearty, homemade meal. I had the chocolate sundae...it brought back memories of being taken out by my grandparents when I was younger. We visited at the end of an all inclusive honeymoon with some pretty awesome food eaten in Africa...this was by far the best meal I've had in months! It's not a 'fancy' meal by any stretch of the imagination, but it is good honest food!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 112fayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We were greeted with queue at 5.30pm which was a good sign..? Their clear mushroom soup was very flavorful. I had their beef stew and it tasted very homey. The portion was pretty tiny though.. also tried their curd with mango which was yummy too! All in all, would recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank aadelinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hap-Hmm also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hap-Hmm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing