We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/14
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/15
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$98
US$83
View deal
SAVE US$15
Hotels.comUS$98
PricelineUS$98
eDreamsUS$98
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
25
3
1
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
3
1
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice stay the penthouse staff was very friendly and helpful great hotel xl floor reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Great staff: very helpful. Accompany you to your room. Beautiful view (11th floor) on the city of Amsterdam. Comfortable beds. The sleeping coach includes. Lots of space in the appartment. Televison, Netflix. Get there!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonewhoteakesyouho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service Cityden, Marketing at Cityden Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Good evening,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again at Cityden Amsterdam West in the near future.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

We stayed at the penthouse xl, it was a very nice stay and the staff was also very friendly. The hotel is very modern, clean and it has a beautiful view. The loft was also very nice and it looks even better than on their pictures.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank F2505KCliamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service Cityden, Marketing at Cityden Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Good evening,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your wonderful review!
Hopefully we may welcome you again at Cityden Amsterdam West.

Best regards,
Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

The unbelievable lovely interior and staff make this place a hidden gem in this part of town. Value for money, definitely, but for us it was so much more. The studio’s are big(!) and clearly decorated with care, according to the last design standards. Plus: Very close to al the hip and happening buzz in the west of the city.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 190mariekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service Cityden, Marketing at Cityden Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Dear Marieke,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!
We hope to welcome you again at Cityden Amsterdam West in the near future.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
Beau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

We booked June 2020 to travel feb 2021 for a hen do that has already been postponed.

Due to travel restrictions we cannot go. We understand a refund is not possible but they won’t even allow for a change of date.

For a hotel to profit from a global pandemic & people dying is utterly disgusting!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gemlouise109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service Cityden, Marketing at Cityden Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Dear Louise,

We are really sorry for the inconvenience during this unforeseen situation and it has a big impact on everyone, including the hospitality. We are doing our best to help every guest as best as possible.

When you made the booking, it was your choice to select a non-refundable rate. This rate is a very popular option and is giving a discount on our flexible rates, with the condition that you pay immediately and cannot change or cancel your reservation anymore. So in this matter, I would like to advise you to contact your travel insurance, hopefully they can assist you further in this matter.

If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Beau
Cityden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

We should have visited Cityden in May 2020 for my daughter’s hen party. Flights were cancelled due to COVID but Cityden are still refusing to refund our money. They offered us the opportunity to re-book but how is this possible with the current situation? Unfortunately my daughter’s wedding was also cancelled so no plans for a future hen party! We spent over £600 on this booking! Some of the girls have lost their jobs so would welcome their money back! Have a heart!

Kathryn
Stockport

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mojito140913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service Cityden, Marketing at Cityden Amsterdam West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Dear Kathryn,

We are really sorry for the inconvenience during this unforeseen situation. Please trust us if we say that this situation has a big impact on everyone, including the hospitality and that we are doing our best to help every guest as best as possible.

If correct we offered you the possibility to re-book your non-refundable reservation. Our apologies if this wasn't explained clearly. Is it possible to reach out to our reservations team via reservations@cityden.com or +31 (0)20 308 0295, so we can help you with your re-booking?

We hope to hear from you.

Regards,

Tristan
Cityden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews