We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
Houseboat Janna
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Houseboat Janna
Houseboat Janna Houseboat Janna - comboose
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Houseboat Janna
Houseboat Janna
Houseboat Janna - comboose
Houseboat Janna - sleeping cabin 1
Houseboat Janna - hallway
Houseboat Janna - sleeping cabin 2
Houseboat Janna - bathroom
Houseboat Janna - with full size bath tub
Houseboat Janna - view from the water
During winter houseboat Janna is warm and cosy
During winter Houseboat Janna is warm and cosy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BlueHands
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The houseboat was spacious and comfortable. There wasn't any rocking or movement which was a relief after long haul flights, and it was surprisingly quiet. Close to cafes and restaurants and the city was easy to get around via tram. We would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty L
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on Janna for New Year and we all absolutely loved it. Coletta was easy to correspond with and we arranged to meet her at the boat which we found easily. The boat itself was bigger than I expected and the perfect set up for us as a family of five. It was easy to get to and we enjoyed being a little bit further out of the city although only 5 mins on a tram to all the main areas. The boat was warm & cosy and we felt really comfortable there. It was completely unique, the children loved it and it was much better than staying in a hotel room as we had so much more space.
I'd highly recommend a trip to Haarlem - a short train ride away. The town is really lovely with lots of shops and places to eat - we visited Corrie Ten Booms house and thoroughly enjoyed it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique experience of staying on a boat
Liked least: Kitchen could be better stocked with utensils
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a great experience!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My daughter and I were in Amsterdam for vacation and wanted to try someplace unique. A canal houseboat seemed just the thing.

Coleta was easy to work with in setting up the stay, and was sweet enough to stock the fridge with snacks and goodies so we didn't have to run out our first day. During our five day stay, Coleta and Stanley were always so nice. The boat isn't far from the local tram system, so travel to all parts of the city was very easy. Local stores and restaurants were plentiful as well.

All in all we had a wonderful time, and I'd recommend the experience to anyone with 2-3 guests.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in quirky accommodation”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay on the houseboat in mid-September. The booking process was very smooth, with Coleta responding very quickly to enquiries and follow-up questions. There were 3 of us (a married couple and single friend), so the bed in the living room was used - there was even a choice of single bed or double bed in the living room (both very easy to assemble and put away in the morning). The kitchen had most things you need, but might need a few minor adjustments from what you're used to - for example there's no electric kettle, so you have to wait longer for the stove-top kettle. Coleta was very friendly and gave us a great introduction to the city on the on-board map, as well as being available during our stay for other questions. She provided a good spread of food (eggs, cheese, milk, ham, fresh bread etc) which, along with plentiful tea and coffee, kept us fuelled for the two breakfasts we stayed there in addition to a few snacks. There are restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk, on the main road that the trams run on, and you're about 10-15 min walk from what most visitors probably consider 'central' Amsterdam. We found it very pleasant wandering through some of the outer streets and canals, much quieter and less touristy/tacky than the central shopping streets or area adjacent to the station. However, some might find not being able to quickly pop back to their accommodation during the day a little inconvenient.
The only reason the stay didn't get a 5 was some physical aspects of the boat which could cause some people some issues. Hopefully obvious from the description, but access to the boat means those with limited mobility won't be able to get in - there's an uneven ramp from the pavement, then some steep steps down into the boat. The boat floor is also a bit uneven in places. Also, ventilation is an issue as windows are accessible from the street so you can't really leave them open when not in the boat. The bathroom accumulates steam quickly (window faces street too, so bit disconcerting when in the shower!), and it rained a lot while we were there, which meant damp clothes. This all meant that the atmosphere in the boat was quite damp (not leaking though!) and could smell a little musty, even after only a day out and especially in the bathroom and bedroom. Towels and damp clothes didn't dry particularly well, unless they were hung all over the living room/kitchen area which was bigger and therefore had better air circulation, as well as heating (very welcome during our stay!). It wasn't really an issue for us, and the service Coleta provides is faultless, but it's worth considering whether those physical issues will detract from your stay. Overall, I'd definitely recommend it to friends and consider staying again if I return to Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness
Liked least: Ventilation/damp air
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam J
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
“Wonderful, perfect place for a family!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We visited houseboat Janna in July 2013. We stayed for five days and we loved it from the first moment! We was travelling with our daughters who is 15 and 10 years old and we loved it so much! The boat is so lovely, perfect for a family, couple and single person, it would be perfect for anyone. The owner of the houseboat is wonderful and serviceminded, helps you with everything you need.The fridge was full of delicious food when we arrived You feel that you are in the middle of the city and in the mean time you can really relax and have privacy at the boat. We really loved it so much and we allready plans to come back next summer! Family Johansson from Sweden

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing