We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vermeer-like morning light, picturesque view of...”
other travellers have booked this property
front of building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of building
view from living room ornate hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
front of building
view from living room
ornate hallway
Staircase
dining
living room
Living room
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen counter
bedroom w canal view
chairs
bed and armoire
Bath
Shower
separate toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vermeer-like morning light, picturesque view of the canal”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kathryn was a fabulous host. The apartment, two huge rooms with a separate kitchen, bathroom, and toilet, is a luxury at any price compared to the tiny rooms you would get at any hotel. Gorgeous views of the canal, romantic bedroom, very pretty building, walking distance to countless cafes, shops, Ann Frank Museum, Dam Square, the train station. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the living room windows.
Liked least: The windows did not open in the bedroom, so I don't know how that would work during the hot summer months, but for our purposes we just left the living room windows cracked so there was sufficient air circulation at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming in great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In the centre of the historic canal district, this cozy apartment is within a 20-minute walk of almost everything worth seeing, including the major museums. Large windows, some of which do not open, though, provide a magical view of the canal below. Fresh flowers are a thoughtful touch. Coffee, tea and spices provided and anything else you need in the pantry is available at a modern supermarket fewer than 10 minutes away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulbon
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“A GEM OF AN APARTMENT”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is conveniently central, a short walk (two tram stops) from the Central Station. The area, a peaceful quarter, the Jordaan, is quiet and charming. There are two large supermarkets, Albert Heijn, like the British chain Waitrose, and a funky new chain of ecologically minded supermarkets called Marqt within a short walk. The area has excellent restaurants offering many different cuisines at a wide range of prices. Trams from Dam take you to the nearby Museum quarter, for the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. The owner’s handbook and the guide books in the apartment are extremely useful.

The apartment is in an elegant building on the bend of the Herengracht. It occupies the front of the first floor overlooking the Herengracht with lovely views up and down the canal. Both the sitting-room and bedroom have two enormous double windows opening out onto the view. The ceilings are high and the feel of the apartment is of space and light.

It is well furnished and very comfortable. In the sitting room there is a dining table with four extremely comfortable chairs with arms, a wonderful seat with matching pouffe at the window ideal for reading or sitting watching canal life go by, and a long L shaped settee which would double up as two extra beds. Fresh flowers and modern technology enhance the room. It is, as can be seen from the photographs, a relaxed and informal space in which we felt entirely at home.

The bedroom is equally spacious with a large very comfortable double bed, a sitting area and lots of wardrobe space.

We used the kitchen a lot during our stay and found it perfectly functional and effective. It is equipped with the standard IKEA kitchen equipment one often encounters in short-term let accommodation. Everything worked and there was an adequate supply of glassware, utensils and crockery. It was useful to find a core of items such as tea, coffee, sugar and herbs.

The bathroom has both a bath and shower and the hot water was reliable and very hot indeed.

The apartment was warm and cosy during our stay, a cold week in December.

The main post office is close by and there are several shops within five minutes walk where one can buy English newspapers on the day they are published.

We have previously stayed in a Herengracht canalside suite at The Ambassade a little further round Herengracht, and it was not nearly as pleasant or spacious as the apartment and considerably more expensive.

The owner Kathryn made all the arrangements with courteous efficiency. She is clearly experienced and was friendly and helpful. Our arrival was managed well and the entire business of the letting was arranged efficiently.

If our best friends asked us about the apartment we would recommend it confidently. Our only cavil is for the infirm or physically fragile, the elegant English staircase to the first floor is relatively steep and could be a bit of a challenge.

We thought it an excellent place to stay. We recommend it without reservation and will use it again in future visits to Amsterdam.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukoPomoj...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed a week in the Herengracht apartment and were absolutely delighted. Booking was easy, communication excellent. Kathryn organised airport pick up and drop off which made arrival and departure so much easier. She met us at the apartment and showed us the ins and outs of everything, including the laundry. The building is 400 years old. Ceilings are very high and the one bedroom apartment is incredibly spacious, close to 100m2 I would guess. The sun shining in across the canal on a clear June morning is about as good as it gets. The bathroom and kitchen were more than adequate and we ate in a lot. The location is terrific, just two blocks from the dam with a supermarket quite close across from the Westerkerk. The Anne FRank house is nearby and you can walk, boat, tram or bus to the Rijksmuseum in very short order. There is a bit of noise from party boats on the canal but it doesn't go late.
I heartily recommend this property for any couple who want to experience living in inner Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Expansive with great outlook
Liked least: laundry in the basement
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelfev...
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“HOW LUCKY CAN YOU GET”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From start to finish our week long vacation here the end of April was perfection. All the glowing reviews about Kathryn and this apartment are right on. Perfect and beautiful and can walk almost anywhere from this location. I loved the large windows and the light streaming in and the size of the rooms. Very quiet building and if you go for Kings Day celebration you are right at the party from your apartment overlooking the canal festivities. Many thanks for a great opportunity to explore this beautiful city

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 636
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing