We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by chance”
Review of Het Karbeel

Het Karbeel
Ranked #356 of 4 612 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: From the morning you can enjoy a rich breakfast and a healthy lunch. The whole day we serve our speciality, the cheese fondues but also fish, meat and pasta dishes.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Looked inviting, my daughter and I ordered two dishes chicken and salmon, both dishes were excellent but sitting waiting for our food in a slightly elevated positioned soon realised everyone was ordering fondue and it looked exceedingly good the way everyone was tucking in. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day otherwise we would have returned. Staff (two girls) very good and attentive.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Curlynob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie I, Eigenaar at Het Karbeel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018

We saw this place when we were doing a walk round the red light district and hunted it out for dinner on our last night in Amsterdam.
We had two fondues between four of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Good food, good wine and good atmosphere - just what we wanted.
A hidden gem but worth visiting.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhilN661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie I, Eigenaar at Het Karbeel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Was so pleased to finally find the most amazing cheese fondue in Amsterdam! Must visit. Cute and characteristic. Great value for money and four legged friends welcome. What more could you want? Cheese and Pets! Really well located in heart of the city! Will definitely be back!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank rosypatman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie I, Eigenaar at Het Karbeel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you And we are very delighted to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

It was horrible! From service to the food! We ordered the 3 cheese fondue,the steak (which we asked to be cooked medium-rare) And the prawns. The fondue came split at the table And it became a horrible soup soon after because of the high flame that was set by our waiter. The prawns were a bit overcooked but tasty until we found long hairs in the shell! The steak came blue (raw And Cold inside). We asked our waiter to cook it a bit more And in the same time we told him about the fondue. His response was "i don't understand what you mean" And He just left. We sat there waiting for someone but they were ignoring us. Finally, a waitress came And she also was rude telling us that every chef în Amsterdam Cook the fondue the same: split And tasting like a cheap wine. We Paid 100 Euros for a dinner that left us with a bad taste. Avoid,Avoid, Avoid! !!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andreea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie I, Eigenaar at Het Karbeel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

I am very sorry to hear that you had the bed experience in our restaurants but of the matter fact I think you don’t know how to eat cheese fondue if you are well known of chees fondue then you can see when the cheese was burning or not I’m about the steak you ordered medium rare But when you don’t like something you don’t like everything and this is how you give us one point
Please go further and look At our reviews then you can see how we workAnd how our employers working with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

What more could you ask for?! The fondue was delightful and good to have with the bread, vegetables and fries! They are a sweet cat that sits on a chair by the front door. Great atmosphere and friendly staff!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Leaahchristiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie I, Eigenaar at Het Karbeel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you very mocht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Het Karbeel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Karbeel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing