We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jordaan Houseboat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Juliane S
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday in Amsterdam and Karin's houseboat was a wonderful find. It was comfortable, warm, and well equipped, and located in a great area. We loved being on the water and the views it offered of other canal boats going by. I particularly appreciated the good quality linen and towels and the extremely well equipped kitchen (not that we did any real cooking, but it was nice to know we could if we wanted to). Karin really went the extra mile leaving fresh flowers, wine, beer and snacks, and fresh milk and some other food supplies, in addition to information about local stores, attractions and services. Thank you Karin for making our first trip to Amsterdam so memorable and so comfortable - so much better than an impersonal hotel room or empty apartment. We will be back one day, and will definitely be telling all our friends about your wonderful canal boat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comforts of a real home
Liked least: Too cold to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for this good review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomWilmNC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...staying here put you in the middle of Amsterdam culture.”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

What an unbeliveable pleasant surprise. Karin's Houseboat is right in the middle of anything you may want to do in Amsterdam. It's on a beautiful canal right across from the Nordermarkt with easy walking access to 2 supermarkets, restaurants and cafes. Trams and buses are a short walk away so it's easy to get to the shopping district and museums if you don't want to walk.

The houseboat is quaint and clean and has everything you need. It's not a first class hotel but it met our lifestyle and we completely enjoyed it. Our early arrival was even accomodated. We stayed for a week, made great breakfasts in the morning, snacks in the evening, and used it as our home base to see Amsterdam. The windows in the kitchen look out over the canal so you get to see dozens of daily tour boats go by. This allows you to hold up a cup of coffee or a beer and wave to the tourists as they go by...you can't imagine how many smiles we put on people's faces by waving as they waved back to us...made us feel like locals.

All this and you're 100 feet away from Winkels, know for their apple pie and whipped cream. If we go back to Amsterdam we'll be staying at Karin's Houseboat. We only wish the weather had been better...still cool in late March.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2015
Thank you for this great review. The apple pie at Winkel is indeed lovely!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeingred...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful houseboat, great location”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The houseboat was lovely and spacious. It's a great location and we had a lovely host in Karin. We would love to return and come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2015
Thank you for this good review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCFremont
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Accomodations, Great times”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Karin's houseboat was great. Living on the water was a lot of fun. Something as mundane as washing dishes becomes cool when you're gazing out a beautiful canal and then a bunch of tourists cruise by on a tourist boat. The inside had plenty of space and everything we needed. A friend of mine was with me and slept on the pullout couch and he said it was very comfortable. We spent a lot of time on the deck watching the world go by on both sides of the boat, water and land. Literally a few steps from the boat was an amazing farmers market where I loaded up on great food for the week. Stores nearby, ATMs, restaurants. We walked to everything and never even bothered with public transportation.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you for this good review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H
Yuba City, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodations except one thing”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This houseboat sits on the Prinsengracht canal just a couple of bridges up from Anne Frank's House. The location is perfect as it is close the grocery stores, taverns, restaurants and transportation.
It is, however, a one bedroom unit with a sleeper sofa in the living room. The sofa bed is very comfortable, but the houseboat is situated near a cross street so all night long, there are car headlights flooding the living room and there was nothing you could do about it. This caused many interrupted nights along with the noisy bar scene which continues until after 2 am especially on the weekend.
The houseboat is supplied with everything you need to prepare meals and relax. We especially enjoyed sitting up on the deck with wine and cheese and waving to all the tourists in the canal boats passing by.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing