We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar”
Review of The Tailor

The Tailor
Ranked #1 of 33 Bars & Pubs in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Had a great time and a great chat with iris and the cocktails are great! Hope these guys get to get a dinner on their manager!

Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKlok, General Manager at The Tailor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Arjun,

Thank you for having been an guest of The Tailor and for your positive review!

On behalf of all the members of staff of The Tailor, we would be honored to welcome you back again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018

Visited only once during 4 night stay. Expensive but expected this in hotel of this standing. What I didn’ expect was very slow service which meant that it took 20 minutes for a G&T and white wine to arrive. As we were on way out to dinner this was unwelcome.

Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKlok, General Manager at The Tailor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your visit at The Tailor.

We very much regret that we did not completely meet your expectations regarding the service.
We take your feedback very serious, and we have shared your experience with the team.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

With kind regards,

With kind regards,
Herman Klok – Hotel Director





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

It's a hard place to find but eventually we found it inside the grand Hotel. We sat down and looked at the cocktail menu for a while. Lots of choices and eventually chose two. They came to the table and wow. One had a squirty old fashioned perfume bottle with it, that you squirted onto the side of your drink, and the other cocktail had prosciutto as a side. The pairings were explained by the waitress and hence to the tastings. I liked my prosciutto and cocktail but they didn't seem to go together. To me the other perfumed cocktail was really a gimmick, but my partner liked it. All in all a great start to the night out.

Thank marshanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKlok, General Manager at The Tailor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your recent visit at The Tailor Bar.
On behalf of all the members of staff of The Tailor, we would be honored to welcome you back again in the future!

With best regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We tried to find The Tailor on our 2nd day but seem to be walking round in circles. We went pass the Grand Hotel the next day and asked the concierge who said it was inside the hotel.
So glad we asked as we had some of the best cocktails I have ever had and spent a few lovely hours sat at this bar.
James - one of the bartenders was such a lovely friendly guy and was very passionate about what he does.

Would highly recommend this place if you are after cocktails - not cheap -but you get what you pay for.

Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKlok, General Manager at The Tailor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Natalie,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here so much that you would recommend The Tailor to others.
We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our cocktails and service of James so much.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in The Tailor!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

What an amazing bar, beautiful cozy and with a gorgeous terrace!!! Cocktails are stimulating and worth trying all!! Very creative and enticing. Service is excellent and James rocks!! Recommend for pre dinner drinks or a night cap. It’s quiet and exclusive place in heart of Amsterdam!!

Thank thetraveller923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKlok, General Manager at The Tailor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear sir/madam,
Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you very much for sharing your experience!
We are happy to be informed that you enjoyed the cocktails and service of James so much. We are all looking forward to welcoming you in The Tailor again! With kind regards, Herman Klok – Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tailor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Tailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing