We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, dank weed!”

Coffeeshop Amsterdam
Ranked #72 of 311 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to Coffeeshop Amsterdam Located just a stones throw away from Central Station with 90 seats and a stylish decorated interior. This is the perfect spot with your friends or alone to ease your mind and just enjoy! Coffeeshop Amsterdam is located on the famous Haarlemmerstraat. Often referred to as the coffeeshop mile. Here you will find many of Hollands world famous coffeeshops. The dampkring was founded in 1993 by Jeroen and Paul; dampkring quickly gained international fame when the American blockbuster Ocean’s Twelve was filmed inside the coffeeshop. Jeroen and Paul are also the founders of one of the oldest coffeeshops of Amsterdam: Tweede Kamer Coffeeshop at Heisteeg 6 in Amsterdam. Tweede Kamer is a small coffeeshop in the city centre with mostly local visitors. Coffeeshop Tweede Kamer is well known throughout the Netherlands. Jeroen left the business in 2001. Paul opened a second dampkring in 2007 on the location of Haarlemmerstraat. In 2011 he sold both of the da
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the coolest coffee shops I’ve been to in dam, wavy architecture really good weed at reasonable prices. Very spacious really cool design. Only ‘downside’ is you have to buy a drink - always go for a coffee because the juices are so small and overpriced!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank malifoster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Public Relations Manager at Coffeeshop Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Malifoster,

Many thanks indeed for the full five-star rating here on TripAdvisor. Sorry to read that you found our juices very small and overpriced. That's certainly not something we regularly hear. We do indeed ask people to buy a drink when spending time in our coffee shop which we feel isn't unfair. Customers are allowed to roll their own in the shop before leaving but those wishing to spend more time with us are indeed asked to order something from the menu. However, once you have ordered we do not chase up customers to continually order and they are welcome to relax a while and become part of the coffeeshops vibe.

Thanks again for making time to leave us a review, we hope to welcome you back in the shop next time you visit Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee shop"
in 6 reviews
"hash"
in 3 reviews
"the red light district"
in 2 reviews
"weed"
in 9 reviews
"session"
in 4 reviews
"bud"
in 3 reviews
"smoke"
in 9 reviews
"window"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Coffeeshop Amsterdan is a great coffeshop not only a large range of drinks but a great selection of buds & also host to the Amsterdam Genetics Smoke Sessions. The staff are friendly & upbeat & service is good. I always visit Coffeeshop Amstedam & recommend anyone coming to Amstedam puts this place at the top of their agenda.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Public Relations Manager at Coffeeshop Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Bethan!

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review. Really pleased to read you enjoy your time with us and continue to come back! Exactly the sort of customers we love to have!

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of my favourite Coffee Shops in Amsterdam. Really friendly and knowledgeable staff and has some of the best bud in Amsterdam. Also definitely check out the smoke session run by Tony Balboa (top bloke!), just to warn first time or light smokers though watch out for the Tony Atom Bomb!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lcooper619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Public Relations Manager at Coffeeshop Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us in the coffeeshop. Tony is certainly a top bloke and we enjoy having the Amsterdam Genetics Smoke Sessions in the shop. See you the next time your back in Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

had a smoke session with the legendary tony balboa amazing place amazing coffee shop staff friendly product quality

Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Public Relations Manager at Coffeeshop Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cheers for the five-star review Brian! Really good to hear you enjoyed your session with Tony and found our staff to be friendly, exactly what we constantly aim for! Come back and see us the next time you're in Amsterdam...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife we discovered this cafe and compared with other staff was more friendly and helpful I really liked it thanks guy and see you next time

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gokhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Public Relations Manager at Coffeeshop Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gokhan B,

Great to read you enjoyed your visit to the coffeeshopamsterdam cafe so much you left us a five-star review here on our Coffeeshop page. The café has only recently opened and we're slowly expanding our menus, such as our latest editions of Bitterballen and our choices of Nachos.

Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the city...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffeeshop Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Coffeeshop Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing