We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service, excellent restaurant.”
Review of Elkaar

Elkaar
Reserve with
Elkaar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 4 619 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$72
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Plantage & the East
Description: At Restaurant Elkaar you are always very welcome for a romantic dinner. We have a cozy ambiance and unique terrace in Amsterdam. Want to experience Elkaar?
Reviewed 19 January 2018

This really is a very good restaurant combining a comfortable dining experience, attentive and knowledgeable service and quality food. I had searched long for a suitable restaurant for an anniversary dinner with my wife last week and Elkaar more than met our expectations. The restaurant is relatively small making it cosy with good sound absorption allowing for ease of conversation. We were very well served with an excellent wine suggested to accompany our a la carte choice. The food itself was outstanding and very good value.We didn't order the five course menu fearing it might be too much but on reflection this was probably a mistake as it would have been good to try the different dishes. A lesson for next time! We dont often recommend a restaurant so highly but make sure you book ahead.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017

My other half booked this for my birthday when we visited Amsterdam in November and it was wonderful. The staff are incredibly attentive and described to us what was in each dish, and the amuse bouches were delightful! Ranging from parsnip bites to DIY cocktails with pippettes. They had even written "Congratulations" on my dessert in chocolate once they had found out it was my birthday. It made my day that much more special - I would highly recommend it!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosereturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

A nice and cozy restaurant with friendly, albeit sometimes slow, service. The food was great and nicely paired with good wine.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Johan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Elkaar is an amazing place with outstanding food and an excellent service. We were a party of seven and got placed at a round-table, which was great to be able to talk to everyone and share this experience. We all chose the five-course menu put together by the chef - the food was outstanding, everything tasted delicious! At the same time, all dishes were styled uniquely and very beautiful. The portions weren't too big, but were just the right size for all the different courses. In addition, the restaurant served three amuse-gueule on the house, which made our five course menu actually an eight course menu - that was fantastic. We also chose for a wine-selection accompanying each course, which meant that each dish was served with a glass of wine, hand-picked for the food. The server provided us with an interesting explanation for each wine, which was excellent. The service is general was very kind and courteous. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice. Our entire group loved the evening, to say the least. Highly, highly recommendable. Thank you Elkaar for a perfect evening!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Concierge at our hotel recommended this restaurant to us, and we were delighted with his recommendation. It is a small, charming restaurant run by a lovely husband and wife. We had a beautiful assortment of foods from our appetizers to desserts which included choices of poultry, fish and beef. Beautifully presented. Gluten free choices available. All delicious. Highly recommend. Easy access using the Amsterdam tram.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SANCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elkaar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Elkaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing