We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
222
281
107
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
281
107
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking nice hotel city centre business trip cold meats and cheeses friendly and helpful staff beautiful city grote markt few minutes walk nice breakfast breakfast buffet is excellent stay old building nice room stayed for nights free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in total. Requested for and was allocated a double bed. The room appears to be recently refurbished and was modern and clean. The bathroom only had a shower room, which was fine with me.

Bed was plush and made for a comfortable nights sleep.

This is an old hotel so does not have air conditioning. It was quite warm in the room even with the windows opened but the hotel kindly provided a fan for the duration of my stay. Just take note in case this is a problem.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied, 6 variety of juices, fresh fruits, hot food, pastries, cold meats and cheeses... It has so much to offer that the only concern is not being able to sample it all.

Overall, very pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank winow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for this detailed and possitive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This was our first visit to Groningen but but it won't be the last. The NH Groningen Hotel de Ville is very well located and it is possible to walk just about everywhere in the city area. Reception staff and housekeeping staff were outstanding. The hotel is perhaps a little dated but that did not worry us. We had everything we needed and so much better than some other similarly priced hotels we have been to. There is a lift which made it easy for seniors. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. The bed was clean and comfortable, and there is a small refrigerator which was much appreciated. Waking to the toll of bells across the city was delightful. We had a very happy stay and recommend this hotel to other travellers. Groningen is a beautiful city, so pretty, clean and environmentally conscious. The hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Lovely hotel. Great breakfast and the location was excellent. We have stayed before and we ate sure to return . The beds were not too comfortable as they were very narrow twins. Staff were very attentive. Rooms were quite .

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank EdelDonelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your visit. Please ask at check in for wider beds, because we have 2 different types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice, friendly, caring and efficient staff. Good food not only fore breakfast but also for diner. The rooms need an upgrade are quite a bit outdated for the price. The location of the hotel is brilliant.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank niklaus_ammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Very nice hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Parking service surprised me absolutely positively. From the hotel you can explore the beautiful city of Groningen on foot. I can only recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank 286karstenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen Hotel de Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Wow, Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews