We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal in a friendly, relaxed and attentive setting”
Review of Eetcafe De Serre - CLOSED

Eetcafe De Serre
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Attentive staff who took the time to explain the menu (despite being very busy). English language menu available. Delicious food, attractively presented and a range of flavours and choices. Would thoroughly recommend if you are eating out in Nijmegen. We are staying in the Mercure hotel just across the road and this restaurant can be seen from our room! Desserts looked delicious. Coffee finished the meal nicely. Very reasonably priced, too. 56Euros for three including starter, wine/beer (2 each) and coffee (no dessert).

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UK20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2014

Based upon advice from the waitress, we chose 6 of the Turkish tapas dishes for the 2 of us. The amount was fine, maybe even a little too much. The food was hot and tasty. There was a small selection of good beers to go with the food.

Only downside, and the reason that this is not a 5 star review, is that on a Friday evening the place was very empty. That meant that the atmosphere was quite flat. Despite this emptiness, the best tables had "reserved" signs on them. So we sat with little or no outside view.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Directly across the road from the Central Station and the Mercure hotel in a fine Dutch classic style building, the short but well-chosen menu offers all the most requested dishes from a typical Turkish selection. The idea is you choose (like Spanish tapas), a few dishes to share. Service is rapid and cheerful from the young staff. The basically-furnished high celing interior is nothing fancy. On a fine evening, you can sit outside and watch the sun setting. Nothing fancy, but do make sure that what they DO bring you is hot! A bill for two came in at 50 Euros. If you ARE staying at the Mercure, this is definitely the better value option!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Tapas food priced around €5 each. freshly cooked and very flavoursome. didnt accept mastercard but cashpoint across the road. has wifi.

Thank Gingerkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived rather early in the evening, without resevation, but that was no problem. We were welcomed by the friendly waitress, who explained us how to order: 3 tapas per person is a meal. We started with a delicious lentils soup. In the meantime the Turkish owner stopped by to check if all was well. And it was. The tapas were delicious, quite different (better) than the Turkish restaurants we generally have in Flanders. Service was quick. By the end of our meal, the restaurant was nearly filled. Overall this was much better than the facade would make hou suspect it would.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nefertete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eetcafe De Serre also viewed

Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing