We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bleak House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bleak House Cottage
Night falls at Bleak House Cottage. Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Bleak House Cottage
Night falls at Bleak House Cottage.
Enjoying evening sun at Bleak House Cottage
Perfect location to relax and unwind
Cottage dating back to 17th Century
EaCottagerly Summer at Bleak House
Lounge
Lounge through to kitchen
Kitchen through to dinning room and on to bedroom
Bedroom through to bathroom
Direct access to a wide range of cycle routes as well as secure bike storage
Ease of access
A magical  summer sunrise from Bleak House Cottage
Long or short walks straight from the front door.
A perfect sunset at the Roaches
Secret Britain's - Lud's Church
The mysteriously hauntingly beautiful Mermaid Pool. Up the lane from Bleak House Cottage.
Thors Cave - Close to Bleak House Cottage
Dovedale, heart of the Peak Park
Chatsworth Country House
Directions to the  undiscovered Peak District
Walking beside the River Manifold
Above the Manifold Valley
Walking Chrome Hill - the Dragons Back
A carpet of gold in an autumn walk at Beresford Dale near Bleak House Cottage
Waterside Walking at Beresford Dale
Beresford Dale relaxed walking near to Bleak House Cottage
Bleak House Cottage beautiful all year round. Winter Sunset
Walking on the Roaches - December
Autumn glory at Rudyard Lake
Waterside walking at Rudyard Lake in autumn
Take a balloon at sunrise across the countryside, memorable!
The end of a perfect break. Memories made with a promise to return!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea W
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage is in a beautiful location 20 minuties from Bakewell. Fab cottage with cosy log burner. We stayed for 3 nights with our dog Teddy so clean and tidy, full Sky package,Maria makes your stay so welcoming attends to your every need, we will definatly stay again, a beautiful cottage in a brilliant location for walking and visiting the area attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Dear Andrea,
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. You were great guests and hopefully we can welcome you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josiedarl...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A beautifully restored cottage in a truly idyllic location.
The owners have really made this a very special place to stay.
Everything you need for a relaxing, stress free holiday.
Cannot wait to return with my pug. She loved it there too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review- we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay - especially your little pug!
We hope we can welcome you all back in the future. Best wishes, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
1 review
“A Wonderful stay in a perfect location”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage was a beautiful getaway in the most beautiful location. We had pure peace and relaxation, watching the Swallows darting around low in the sky over the surrounding fields - which provide the cottage with the best views I could dream of waking up to.

Maria is a very welcoming and kind host, who provided us with a delightful welcome hamper containing local goodies. The cottage itself is divine - fully equipped with everything you may need. I didn't want to leave! The real log burner is perfect for settling down by, whilst watching a film (good Sky TV Package - includes sports for those wanting to watch football..). It is beautifully clean (and I have OCD about cleanliness!) and so, so cosy!

During our trip, we walked the Roaches (WOW!), up Chrome Hill (difficult, but so worth it) and visited the nearby towns of Leek, Buxton (great food shopping - M&S, Waitrose plus all other supermarkets you need) and the quaint village of Hartington - great collection of pubs and a lovely ice cream shop.
We also walked to Longnor for breakfast - a pleasant walk and had a great sausage sandwich in the little cafe in the village.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this cottage - we have already booked our return visit. The area has so much to see and a week is not long enough to see it all (meaning we can easily justify revisiting many times!) and there is nowhere better to stay than here.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Dear Catherine,
Thank you for your kind review. You were delightful guests to host and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Bleakhouse Cottage”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is the perfect idyll for escape. Beautiful surroundings, home from home amenities. Lots of beautiful places to visit in easy reach. The owner is lovely and friendly and very helpful and welcoming. Hope to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. You were great guests to host and left the cottage spotless. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
192Vaness...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tranquillity ”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I visited Bleak house for a short break with our beloveded dog Floyd. The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need. Lovely log burner,cosy, modern retreat. A place to get away from it all and reconnect with nature and each other. Loved the fact we could walk straight out the door,surrounded by fields plus beautiful views. Very central to nearby attractions, dog friendly walks and cafe's. Ideal place to get away from it all. Maria is a fantastic host and happy to help. Excellent welcome hamper with wine and cake. Just a perfect break overall in a gorgeous part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thank you for you lovely review. You were all, including Floyd, delightful guests to host and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing