We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Views, but Less-than-Perfect Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Citronelle

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
view from Patio with gas barbeque  Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Lounge
view from Patio with gas barbeque
Main Bedroom
second bedroom
Dining area
Hi Tec Kitchen
Eden  Island
En suite Bathroom
Mountain view from 2nd bedroom
Eden  Island clubhouse
Eden Island beach (Tec-Tec)
Private golf cart for use on Eden Island
From Patio
Anse Bernitier, Eden Island
Large yatch Marina
Evening view from patio
From kitchen towards patio
View from the balcony
sunset
preparing kayaks
View from apartment looking North
Lounge
Dining area
pool next to apartment
citronelle pool
EDEN BLEU HOTEL POOL
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Eden Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
AroundThe...
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Views, but Less-than-Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment generally looks the way it is presented in the photos advertising the apartment. However, there are details in the apartment that could use improvements. For example, the bed skirt/dust ruffle on the master bed was stained, and there were other things that were less-than-perfect. The views from the apartment were lovely -- marina and sea views from the balcony, mountain views and a sliver of a water view from the kitchen, etc. It was very convenient to have the use of a dishwasher, washer/dryer, outdoor grill, stove and oven, etc. The apartment provided a very relaxing environment -- waking up to the sound of happily chirping birds, riding the golf carts around the property and seeing beaches and marina areas.

Because the apartment was not pristine, I would rate it 3.5 out of 5 if that were an option. Since it is not, I rounded up to 4 out of 5. I am torn about whether I would recommend this rental to a friend, as I would be embarrassed to recommend a place to a friend and have him/her find a stained bed skirt/dust ruffle on the bed... With this said, I probably would not recommend the apartment to a friend... If the cleaner were more observant, I would have no problem with recommending the apartment.

My overall assessment is that the views from the apartment and general Eden Island environment are wonderful. The cleaning situation is average.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia...
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Perfect Island, Perfect stay and an apartment with an owner who cares”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

In short, we are excited about the Seychelles, Eden Island and Marilyn's apartment. Everything is perfectly organized, from the rental payment, the rental car to check- in and check -out. As we knew, we would arrive very early in the morning and check-in will be at 2pm, we wanted to book the apartment one day earlier, but Marilyn told us, we will be fine. When we arrived at 8.30 am, the cleaning crew was already cleaning the apartment. We dropped of our luggage and after a cup of coffee we could move in. The apartment is very nice, clean and equipped with everything you need for a perfect and relaxing vacation. Citronelle 23 is very centrally located and has a balcony with a great view of the blue-green sea. From the kitchen you see the mountains of the Seychelles - just fantastic . The apartment is decorated in blue and white tones so you can only feel comfortable. The landlady is very nice and helps with any questions . Since Eden Island is car-free , each apartment has a golf cart, with which you move on the island. A new, big supermarket, restaurants and the great Boardwalk bar (all with moderate prices), can be reached quite hassle free.There are three Eden Island beaches that delight both adults and children. With the pool , tennis court and the gym also athletes will be extremely satisfied .
All in all a perfect vacation and we will definitely come back .
Thank you Marilyn for a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbas...
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best self catering island accommodation”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our week-long stay at Eden Island in April! Enjoyed every moment from the beaches and snorkeling to the lovely apartment! Our flight arrived early but we had arranged an early check in which wasnt a problem. Marilyn (really sweet and helpful owner) had organized a small car for us through St Louis car hire. They were waiting at the airport for us with the car when we landed. Definitely recommend hiring a car with aircon! We tried a bus one day and it was way too hot!

When we arrived at Eden Island we had to transfer from our car to an electric golf car. Too small to transport all luggage but reception organized a bigger golf car to take our luggage for us. The goIf car was loads of fun :) and handy to get between clubhouse, restaurants and private beaches. The apartment was beautifully decorated and comfortable, felt like a beach house. Very reasonably priced. Overlooking a bay with private berth. Close to a shared swimming pool.

Marilyn recommended visiting some lesser-know beaches which we enjoyed. Also listed a few restaurants for decent pizza and local cuisine. Must try the sweet and sour fish! She also told us how to catch a ferry to Praslin and La Dique and gave us an itinerary of places to visit.

We bought our fruit and veges from the local market as it's cheaper and an interesting experience. Get there early enough! Outside Eden Island a bunch of local fishermen sell freshly caught fish , great for evening barbeque.

Highly recommend kyaking out to Cerf Island and snorkelling around. Forget where we ate lunch but it was nice just book in advance.

Great place to stay , we've already recommended it to our friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The itinerary and beaches etc that Marilyn recommended. Nice touch.
Liked least: It would be great if they served cocktails and drinks by the Clubhouse swimming pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming
Liked least: Leavng
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CyFrandse...
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor follow through”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

When we booked the apartment we informed that we would land at 06.30 and was informed that the previous tenant would check out at 0730 and that we would need to allow some time for cleaning before we could have full access. We accepted this as we could drop our luggage off and go to the beach to an hour or so.

The day before we fly out the story is changed and now the previous tenant would check out at 0930 … too late to do anything about it … but not a good sign.

On arrival at Eden at 0800 after a long sleepless flight with young kids we get in a buggy and find that yes the previous tenant have not check out and are informed by the Eden Management that cleaning would likely not be finished before 12 noon contrary to what Marilyn had promised and was paid for!

Obviously not happy with this we have no alternative than get back in the rental car with our entire luggage and by now very grumpy kids and take a long drive.

Marilyn was nowhere to be seen! She had been paid for the total amount of the stay and we just felt she did not care after that. No apology, no follow up! We had expected a better service as we had read some pretty positive reviews about the place but were very disappointed!

Eden Island and the apartment itself was nicely located with amazing mountain and marina views.

However the overall cleanliness of the place was way below average:

1. Master bedroom shower flooded all the time inside the bedroom as the drain was clogged and perhaps as a result there was mould inside the shower cubicles which has obviously accumulated over time due to lack of proper cleaning!

2. The master bedroom toilet drains stunk permanently. Not pleasant at all! Again there was no one on site to voice our concerns to. Since the apartment was rented through a private person, the eden island's management were not able to help.

3. Living room sofa and chairs look pretty on the pictures but was actually filthy, so we covered the sofa with bed sheets to be able to use them at all.

4. The kitchen does come equipped, but all items had seen better days.

5. We found cockroaches in the kettle. Despite being “ambushed” by pest control on the island which is done without warning to tenants.

6. The Barbecue was really filthy with leftover bits from previous tenants and was obviously not part of the cleaning routine.

7. The string and pulleys for the shades on the balcony were arranged all wrong and half was worn through as a result rendering them useless at best.

8. The kayaks provided were a big reason for us to choose this place over others on Eden. We got good use of them but again they showed signs of no maintenance and all of the safety leases were broken and we had to be a patch job first.

All of that said, the private beaches themselves are amazing. We used practically all the private beaches on the island. They are generally very kids friendly and safe. However some of the more wind exposed ones were littered with plastic bottles and other trash! Most of the public beaches on Mahe we saw were in better shape. Not expected on a luxury destination like the Eden Island.

Food very expensive and quite scarce at times! Seychellois charge an arm and a leg for basic food items so better budget for that too!

Service in restaurants is generally very slow and the food quality and options not great, so we were happy we were in a self-catering apartment.

We are quite used to driving in third world countries but be warned that driving can be very aggressive in contrast with the normal relaxed attitudes of the locals. Especially the local bus drivers are total nutters on the steep narrow mountain passes. So be careful on the road if you plan on driving around.

We followed Marylin recommendation for car rental and Ryan helped us out and provided good service despite the early morning pickup and drop off. However, depending on your appetite for exploring the island, you are likely better off renting for a few days only and not the full period.

As we were mainly focused on a kid friendly holiday we only took a half day cruise around the nearby marine park. We booked a private skipper named Bruce, who we contract through the charter company on Eden. He was a star and we had a super day out and were even welcomed by his own family who lives on Cerf Island. This is highly recommended.

In conclusion, this apartment is offered at a discounted rate to attract more rental return. Unfortunately it seems that we were unlucky and arrived at the end of the maintenance cycle.

You do save, but do not expect perfect as a result.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The provided kayaks were a good add-on
Liked least: The cleanliness of the place was not good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2013
I was really sorry that this family arrived with a small baby and the apartment was not ready at 7.30am. The normal check-in time is 2.00pm, unless there have not been previous guests staying. In this case, there were guests leaving at 10.00am. I had told them that they could leave their luggage at the apartment and go to the cluhouse pool or beach until it was ready.
I was not on the Island at the time - I live in South Africa. I leave the general running of the apartment to the V.M.A.
I was upset to hear that the drains were blocked, and when I received an e-mail from the guests, I arranged for the maintenance man to attend to it immediately, which they did. As for the couches not being clean, this was truly regrettable. The cleaners will need to be more observant - I will remind them to check on this in future. The barbeque should have been cleaned, there is no excuse for this.
We provide kayaks for the use of guests free of charge, but I am afraid they are frequently misused and straps are broken - this is unfortunate for everyone.
We try to give our guests a 5 star experience, and have certainly had wonderful reviews in the past. I do apologize to these guests for the inconvenience they encountered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing