We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
18
11
3
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
11
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course cant wait adjoining rooms short stay kzn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2019

We stayed here twice before, the rooms are comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast is a bit basic with very little verity.
The service is slow. We also had lunch here. Same experience. The area is beautiful though and the view is breathtaking! A pity about the service.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019

On arrival there were no personal to help us with luggage. In the room. Sport channels are only supersport 3 and 4. On request to change. They cannot do. The news channels is pathetic. The chef does not know what a sunnyside up egg is. The barman does not know how to make a margarita. The most unfriendly personal ever.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Delangesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

Awesome stay at Vulintaba! The staff was very friendly. We overnighted there on our way to honeymoon. Rooms are great! Bed is huge and very comfortable. Everything is clean and the views are amazing. We jad dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing. Only thing was we waited quite a long time for our drinks but its just something small. Overall it was amazing!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gerhardv239
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Unfortunately a place to be very careful. Safe in rooms don't seem to be secure. Money disappeared from passport wallet left in safe. Called hotel twice and spoke to Thuli and Mbali saying they will inform management who will call back, but no response. Henry van der Linde is the GM but have had no communication or follow up. A very unpleasant experience at a hotel in a beautiful setting. Sadly stealing is going to break down South Africa.

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank ForceQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing-Henry, General Manager at Vulintaba Country Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Dear ForceQ,
Thank you very much for bringing this under our attention.
On your enquiry, 3 members of staff, including 2 senior managers, went to open the safe in your room. This is done by using a special safe key, that is kept in a safe in my office.
The safe in the room was still locked and on opening it, there was nothing inside.
It is impossible for any member of staff to open any safe in a room without the knowledge of a senior manager.
This is not a problem we experience in the hotel, as often guest valuables have been returned to them without any problem.
I do apologize for your inconvenience, but I have to urge you to re-check if the money you mentioned have not been placed somewhere else.
I will however ensure that additional procedures are put in place to give our guests peace of mind when staying with us.
Kind Regards
Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

The hotel is in a beautiful spot at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain. From the hotel entrance to the bar and restaurant to the hotel room, the establishment is trendy and neat. The breakfast buffet accompanied by the beautiful view was divine! If you are travelling from Johannesburg and are using Google Maps, do not turn into the gravel road before reaching Newcastle as directed. Rather drive to Newcastle town and navigate from there.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews