We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, good food, but disappointed”
Review of Clouds

Clouds
Ranked #247 of 2 160 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: US$25 - US$156
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We're not very price sensitive, but for all our "date nights", this is the first time we're charged a three course dinner, though only having two courses. Went there for short-listing places for our wedding dinner, and this money-making mentality of a restaurant which else has good food, nice service and a pretty view over beautiful Zurich is unfortunate.

Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsgastro, Geschäftsführer at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear PJ W,

Thank you very much for taking your time and write this review about us.
It is very unfortunate to read such a story as yours. We are everything else than happy to hear that you've been charge more courses than you have consumed. Have you told your waiter about? If you did not so, please use my email to get in touch with me, b.gilly@clouds.ch.
It would be great to hear from you soon.

best regards,
CLOUDS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We visited recently on a warm summer day to meet a friend for drinks before dinner elsewhere. We wanted to cool off with a drink or two. Little did we know that it was warmer inside this place than outside. We know Swiss summers are relatively short but I really thought at least the modern buildings would be equipped with air conditioning. Since it’s a panoramic, 35th floor setting, there are no windows to open. Service was pleasant and the drinks were fine. Views were spectacular. I would skip it if it’s a hot day, though.

Thank AceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsgastro, Geschäftsführer at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi AceTeacher,

Thank you very much for your entry here on Tripadvisor!

It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed our service and drinks, we love to hear this . It is very unfortunate that most of the buildings in Switzerland are not yet equipped with a neat air conditioning system. We are giving our best to make the best out of ours, we will take your feedback for granted and will take a look into our settings.

Thank you and best regards,
Your CLOUDS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Located on the top floor of Zurichs highest building. There is a bar, bistro and restaurant. You have great views over the whole city. Modern bright design, there are several levels in the dining room so every table has good views, well designed.

Food is mixed. Starter (char fish) was good quality but there was no taste. Deer fillet with mushrooms and arugula as main dish was excellent, excellent meat quality and very tasty. Dessert (strawberry tart) average with lack of taste. Overall average experience.

Service was poor, for me the weak point here. Reception staff was not friendly, service staff unprofessional and unattentive. There were many times I wanted to order something but nobody was available, I had to wait long until got served, they did pour the wrong water, did not know the wine I chose etcetc. Staff is not trained enough for this kind of Restaurant.

Overall not a great experience, I will not return as there are many better restaurants in Zurich. A pity as the location is really nice and they could do some great job, hopefully they will improve!

Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsgastro, Geschäftsführer at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Thomas G,

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.

We've been reading your lines carefully, and we would like to express our apprecciation for your time taken. We love all the comments regarding food, view, and our interior design, they are lovely. We are very sorry for your bad experience regarding service and our hostess team. It is our duty to exceed guests expectations, it surely seems we did not succeed in your case. We are fully confident that we are able to do so, we would love to see you again in our restaurant and proof you, that we can do much better than what you have experienced.
We have been talking with our service staff which has served you that night, we are going to ensure to protect you and any other future guests from same and similar experiences. Plaese accept our dear apologies again, we are looking forward to see you soon.

with best regards,
CLOUDS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We booked at 6pm on a Friday evening as off to the Maag halle at 7pm-very convenient as next door. The bistro was almost empty and others were only having drinks. We told the waitress our time limit and asked if we ordered the fish if we had time and she said yes. The Saibling was delicious but the "Fish and chips" turned up with hot chips but the fish was still cold on the inside!-obviously cooked straight from the freezer and not cooked properly. It took over 30 minutes for the food to appear so there was no time to order new food. The waiter kindly turned up with a salad to make up for it but not quite the quality we were hoping for on our first visit to Clouds bistro.
The view is amazing but surely the food quality should be easy to improve.......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yas46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsgastro, Geschäftsführer at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Yas46,

Thank you very much for visiting us on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you chose us for the place to be before the concert starts. That's amazing to hear that our staff has taken care of your wishes, by the way, you can mention while booking your table that you will go see the concert in the MAAG-Halle, we will pay attention to that.
On the other side, it is very bad to hear that your fish was still cold on the inside, that's clearly not up to standards. We are very sorry to hear so. We were holding a meeting with the chefs which were in charge for your food this night, thank you again for your feedback. Please rest assured that you will get your fish'n'chips hot, from the inside and the outside, when we welcome you back again at the CLOUDS.

best regards,
Your CLOUDS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Really fantastic place and view and romantic place for couples especially when it becomes dark outside.
> We had a nice table at the window side
The service was brilliant; really supportive, friendly and relaxed.
The recommended wine and main course (surf and turf) perfectly matched.
> The food in general is sooo delicious. I personally didn't like the lobster soup (lobster taste is too strong).

Of course it is definitely not the cheapest spot in town but every CHF is well spent
Thanks a lot to the whole team for the lovely evening

1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsgastro, Geschäftsführer at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi there Natalie S,

WOW - speechless.

Thank you very much Natalie that you have taken your time to write about your experience at our Restaurant. We love to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and your comments and compliments will be shared with the entire team. The fact that our wine recommendation has matched with the of yours chosen dishes, and that we could create a moment of more for you is very satisfying for us to hear, and we would like to thank you very much.

We cannot wait to welcome you again in our CLOUDS and wish you all the best in the meantime.

best regards,
Your CLOUDS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clouds also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Clouds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing