We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Booking.comUS$179
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$181
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
70
165
113
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
165
113
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station first floor old style french doors local attractions view of the lake nice room small balcony yogurt booked this hotel christmas market casino brasserie passes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

The staff at reception is very friendly and helpful! A bit of an older hotel without aircon, but heating is sufficient. The bathroom is small but has what is needed. The travel passes provided really helps with sightseeing, especially when it is raining. It would have been nice to have a kettle with cups and coffee in the room. But if you ask staff at reception, the will give you a flask with boiling water and cups. We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. They gave us a room with a great view! We didn't opt for the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 124riane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable relations clients at J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear 124riane,

Thank you for this complete review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff, the charm of the hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you.
Have a great day.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Needed hotel for Christmas market : booked this hotel at an amazing rate (considering it’s Montreux and Christmas season), and can really only say good stuff. At this price, expectations are accordingly, and I’ve paid muuuch higher prices for very awful stays.
Room was spacious, clean, beds were good as were pillows and linen. The whole building is still really authentic old style: personally I genuinely love this, even if it is a bit worn: it should be at this age: beautiful wooden floors, old furniture, classic vibe, as long as the essentials are good, and they were. Well issolated room (zero neighbour noise). Reception was warm and friendly. Location is fantastic: to me it was exactly what I was hoping to find and will book again when wanting to go out in Montreux: excellent value proposition !

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SwizerlandRoisinDubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable relations clients at J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2019

Dear SwizerlandRoisindubh,

It's a pleasure to read you.
We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and especially that you were seduced by its charm and universe.

Our hotel is 150 years old and it seems important to us to preserve this memory of the past. So thank you for understanding this and enjoying it.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back whenever you want.

Have a great day and weekend !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Asked for nice room with good view.... and this is what I got!

Nicely located hotel in Montreux about 150m from the lake and close to the Casino/ Queen Recording studios.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. ONe thing that impressed me was that when I was checking out and mentioned I'd to get a train to Geneva, the receptionist got me to use her terminal to buy my tickets onlue as they were about 30% cheaper this way. In fact if I had booked my tickets some days wearleir they woudl have been about €7 instead of €30.

There is a coffee bar in the hotel ar the first floor which has good viewing window and which I used, and a brasserie on the ground floor which seems good - it was certainly busy!

Room tip: Ask for one!
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable relations clients at J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Dear BinDereDoneDat

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us.
We are very happy to know that you had a good time at our hotel. We do our best to take care of you and help you during your stay. We are very pleased to know that this has been the case.

We hope to see you again very soon so that you can discover a little more about our region.

Excellent day to you and a beautiful week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

My husband and I recently stayed at the Helvetie that was booked for us through the Swiss Holiday Company. It is less than ten minutes from the train station and set one street back from the river. On entry there is a grand stair case and open plan reception, hallway and eating area where breakfast is served. The staff are very helpful and our room was available early despite the fact we weren't meant to check in for another three hours. A traditional French style lift is available to all floors. Our room felt traditionally 'French' with big French doors onto a small balcony with a table and two chairs. Unfortunately, a very large unsightly building blocked a view of the lake but it was clearly visible to the right and left of the building. The room was large with a Queen size bed and was light and airy. The room had a desk, a wardrobe that contained a safe and mini bar and there was plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom is concealed in a cupboard and despite a narrow entry the shower is large and worked really well. Due to the size of this the sink is in the bedroom. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was continental with a nice selection of cereal, fruit, yoghurts and pastries. The hotel is central to see all of the town and directly one street behind the Queen experience music venue and Casino. On the corner of this street is a lovely pub - the only one in the town called Adam's Bar that serves lovely lager and popcorn to have with it!

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank HarperF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable relations clients at J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Dear HarperF2

What a pleasure to read such a detailed opinion. Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your impressions of your stay at our hotel. This is very pleasant to read. We try to put everything in place so that you can find everything you need.
Thank you, therefore, for all these clarifications regarding the organization of our hotel.

We hope that your stay was good enough for you to come back.

Have a great day and a great week


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

Arrived early and they made the effort to get our room available for us as my dad was in need of a rest. We were on the 4th floor, cute balcony facing the lake. Staff were awesome and the continental breakfast was very good. Gluten free cereal available on request. Let them know about dietary needs when booking and they will be only too happy to oblige. Gentle walk downhill to Lake front. Nice central location.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 964MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable relations clients at J5 Hotels Helvetie Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Dear 964MC,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to thank our team. We hope you will come back to discover the beauty of our region in all seasons.

Have a very nice day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews