We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
461
127
20
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
127
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cigar room piano bar train station free mini bar outdoor jacuzzi smoking room sister hotel sunnega lift free pick half board wonderful spa excellent hotel special thanks breakfast and dinner julen family spent a week beautiful zermatt
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We did enjoy our stay here and found the staff to be friendly and helpful but based on the other reviews I was a little disappointed. First our room was much more cramped than I had expected. If we put a suitcase on the suitcase rack you couldn’t open the door to the hall. Not a big deal but inconvenient. The spa area was very nice but it wasn’t open at convenient times. I like to use the spa early mornings or evenings but it was only open from noon until 8 pm. Breakfast had a good assortment and was good the first morning but the second morning they had run out of plates and glasses so we had to wait about 10 minutes until they brought some out then the eggs were like soup and the bacon was nearly raw - the day before they were perfect. Someone told us later that they will make you an omelette but that you have to ask – if that’s a possibility you shouldn’t have to ask they should offer it. The dinners looked great and for the most part pretty good. We booked the room with half board and we’re glad we did. The location is good if you are looking for quiet. There is a short cut to the train station by going through the back yard, up the stairs and over the tracks. Because of the spa we would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Butch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed here for two nights in May, and wished it could have been much longer. The room was comfortable, spacious and immaculate; the public areas of the hotel were very welcoming and inviting. Breakfast was ample, tasty and varied, and the one dinner we had made us very sorry we hadn't eaten at the hotel the first night of our stay. All the staff, from the reception desk to the restaurant to the bar were genuinely friendly and helpful. The hotel is a great base while staying in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eastporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good Afternoon eastporter,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
Hopefully you find the time to come back to Zermatt.

We wish you all the best, sunny greetings from the mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Very traditional hotel, high level of hospitality and professionalism. What was a surprise to know that we got served by a very kind and nice gentleman - ex Olympic team member of Croatia in Nogano specializing in mogul. Daytime he gives private lessons and works as waiter in the restaurant in evenings.
Spa, fireplace, cigar room added charm to the atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AlexeyD493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good Afternoon AlexeyD493,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Hotel is a short walk or ride from the train station; easy to get to. We had a flexible check-in experience. The receptionist spent a good amount of time showing us a map, drawing on it, and providing recommendations based on questions we asked. Excellent English. The room we were in was obviously recently renovated and it was very comfortable. The private patio is also great for lounging, and offers excellent views of the river through town. We were there in late May, and the town was pretty quiet. So everything closed early, including the pool (8pm) and restaurant (9pm) in the hotel. The cigar lounge is fun, and it stays open later - past midnight.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good Afternoon Michael M,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

I can't start to say how great this hotel is. We basically picked it randomly from Trip Advisor reviews and couldn't have been happier. Although the hotel may consider themselves a 4 Star Hotel (not sure), it was certainly a full 5 Star to us.

From the minute we walked into the lobby the service was ABSOLUTELY over the top friendly, almost like they were truly happy to have us. I only wish I remembered the name of the women at the from desk who checked us in on May 10th. Thanks for showing us to our room (#204) and giving us tips for our Zermatt stay.

I also have to include the bartender and girls in the restaurant for breakfast every morning. You are all great and we couldn't have asked for nicer people or better service.

As for our room, pictures don't do it justice. We had been upgraded even though they never mentioned it and it was a wonderful surprise. Everything about our room was first class and the bed was literally the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in my life!

We're already talking about returning for a longer visit and will of course stay here again. Thanks for everything during our stay and your wonderful employee's certainly make your hotel a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clint1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie-Julen, Manager at Hotel Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good Evening Clint1583,
thank you very much for your lovely comment. Hopefully you find the time to come back to Zermatt.
We wish you all the best, sunny greetings from the mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews