We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend the day in Lugano”

Boat Center Palace Lugano
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Arrived in Lugano on a holiday, much to the dismay of the women in our party (no shops open). Stumbled across this location and the 4 of us picked up some food and went up the lake to have lunch on the water. Boat was easy to operate (didn't go very fast, however) but was great way to spend the afternoon enjoying the water and the views around Lake Lugano.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015

At 180 EUR for three hours, we rented a boat (with cover for shade) to spend a beautiful day on Lake Lugano and it was perhaps on the best things we did on our honeymoon. In June, the water temperature was not bad at all and it was so refreshing to take a dip on a hot day. The scenery of Lugano, Mt. San Salvatore and the other lake towns really comes alive from this unique perspective. Bring some bread, cheese, meat, wine, and fruits and make a picnic of it! I'd recommend at least four hours on a beautiful day. Book in advance for a weekend date.

Service was friendly enough. Kind of gruff but he didn't charge us extra when we came back 15 minutes late. Italian and German spoken but I think you can get by with English.

Date of experience: June 2015
5  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Whatever you do, if you go to Lugano..don't miss meeting this wonderful water taxi owner! So knowledgable about the area and eager to share with tourists. You really feel like you're getting a personal tour of the lake. He gave us great recommendations for lunch and dinner that evening. Easy to reach by cell phone and extremely reliable!

Date of experience: September 2013
5  Thank Sjaenrdryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our party of 4 stumbled upon Kurt Saladin (owner) while walking along the lake near Lugano. Kurt told us about the 1000 year old lakeside town of Gandria and took us by his water taxi and dropped us off, gave us an excellent recommendation for a place to have lunch, then picked up up several hours later. He proceeded to take us on a complete tour of the lake and we stopped at a small family Grotto to have a beer & wine. Highly recommend!!

Date of experience: August 2013
7  Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a must for anyone who enjoys spending time on the water.It is like floating on glass and it seems as though you can see the bottom of this huge body of water.It is so calm that weather you like to water ski,wake board,or simple sail,or motor your boat it is as calm as can be.We went with a bunch of people and had a wonderful relaxing day.It is not expensive,and i don't think we booked it more then a day ahead.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boat Center Palace Lugano also viewed

 

Been to Boat Center Palace Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing