We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
IMG_7847.JPG
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG_7847.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
IMG_7847.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SLZF
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week at the Kiwi apartment in Grindelwald, travelling with our 2 children (aged 13 and 11). The apartment has a spectacular view of the Eiger and other alpine mountains, and is very closely located near the train station, which was great for accessing alpine walks, and other sights. We had driven, and there was ample parking. The apartment was very clean. It is on 2 floors, and has a second toilet downstairs. There is also a fully stocked kitchen, a DVD player, and satellite TV. The apartment is clearly built (as expected) for alpine living. However, during our stay, the 30+ degrees Celsius temperature was quite uncomfortable. We managed to keep the apartment cool by closing doors, windows and curtains during the day and keeping the windows open at night (no flyscreens; no air conditioning). As these temperatures are unusual, this is not a complaint - just a comment. The main down side is that the apartment does not have a laundry. The rental agent (Griwarent) did not give us directions to a local laundry, but we managed to find a small one a few hundred metres down the main road towards Interlaken. As such, I would not recommend this apartment for people with very young children due to the stairs and the absence of a washing machine. The other slight annoyance was that each bedroom had a large skylight. These must be fabulous during winter to let extra light in, but in summer, it meant we were woken up very early each morning with fully sunlight streaming through the skylights. However, we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: No washing machine
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbyb72
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment our family (two adults and girls aged 10 and 13 years) arrived at Chalet Kiwi we felt relaxed and at home. The chalet is extremely comfortable, simple, yet modern, warm and homely.
The kitchen is fully equipped and small touches around the chalet show that the owner's have clearly considered that guests are on "holiday."

The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious with plenty of storage space.
The bathroom was modern, warm with a lovely powerful shower and large cabinet for a family of four to stow away toiletries.

The views of the Eiger from the balcony are stunning and we really enjoyed coming back after our busy days to a glass of wine on the balcony in sun.

The location couldn't be better, it was very peaceful yet only a couple of minutes walk to the train station, shops and restaurants.

The booking process was extremely easy and the owner's were a pleasure to deal with.
I would highly recommend Chalet Kiwi for anyone staying in Grindelwald and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views from the balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful chalet!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were 2 adults and 2 young children visiting Grindelwald for 1 week in December 2014. We stayed in Chalet Kiwi and from the minute we arrived we knew this was the perfct place for us to stay. It was within an easy short stroll of the main centre of the town and has wonderful views out towards the Eiger. The Chalet was very clean and modern, well equipped and quiet. It had everything we needed and we really couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners have made a real effort to make this place feel homely and welcoming and we loved it!!!! Can't think of a single negative thing to mention. When we come back to Grindelwald this is the place we will try and rent again! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandjurdj...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our family of four stayed for 6 nights in the Kiwi Chalet in October 2014.

We simply loved it: the chalet was modern, clean, well-styled and conveniently located near the centre of Grindelwald within walking distance of the main walk trails, transport and shops. Each morning we woke to the stunning views, particularly that of the majestic north face of the Eiger which dominated the storybook panorama on our balcony. The chalet was fully equipped with all the essentials and we had use of convenient, large laundry (including a generous drying line). The staff at Griwarent were helpful, courteous and made us feel at home. We give our experience an unreserved 5/5 and hope to go back again one day soon. Our only regret is that we had to leave. Thank you Griwarent for making this the highlight of our 4 week European vacation.

Dan, Maureen, Lara and Maya

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee1058
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful Chalet, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Modern, clean, and well appointed chalet, walking distance to town, trains and gondola. Fabulous Eiger view. Everything you need for a comfortable and cozy stay in Grindelwald.
We would definitely recommend this apartment to family and friends. The GriwaRent Office folks were exceptionally helpful with tips on hikes best places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright and sunny and great location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing