We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and efficient service”

Restaurant Salzhaus
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Solothurn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This place is perfect for a quick lunch, the service is fast and friendly. the food is good and you can eat with view of the Aare river. We went in without reservations and got a table out of pure luck, make sure you book in advance as it seems to be quite a popular restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sebmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant-Salzhaus, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Salzhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Sebmtb,

Vielen Dank für die tolle Bewertung und die netten Worte!

Sonnige Grüsse aus dem Salzhaus ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Passing that restaurant by accident we decided to have lunch in the terrace if this place. We we pleasantly surprised about the quality of the food. Very original and creative. If we are ever planning to go to Solothurn again we will try and have dinner at this place.

Thank Mr_C_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant-Salzhaus, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Salzhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Mr_C_travel,

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns wieder besuchen würden!

Lieben Dank für das Feedback und die tolle Bewertung!

Sonnige Grüsse aus dem Salzhaus ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location next to the river Aare. Since it was a sunny day we had the possibility of having lunch outside.
The food was really good, we had roastbeef served with a salad and roasted potatoes.
The staff was friendly and the place very clean and modern.

Thank brugnolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant-Salzhaus, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Salzhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018
Google Translation

Lieber brugnolc,

Vielen Dank für die netten Worte und die tolle Bewertung!

Sonnige Grüsse aus dem Salzhaus ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Solothurn is a wonderful place: full of history, wonderful riverbanks and good restaurants.
Unfortunately this sometimes leads to the need or desire to “stick out”. Although not necessarily bad, for the Salzhaus this backfired.
To follow the lead of the “extended nouvelle cuisine “ by presenting tiny morsels of eclectic taste mixes can only be satisfactory if these are followed by courses of memorable quality. Here the Salzhaus remains bellow par. This proved to be true even of the wines on offer.

Thank Bristonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant-Salzhaus, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Salzhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Bristonian,

Danke für dein Feedback. Tut uns leid, dass wir dich nicht begeistern konnten. Wir wechseln alle 6 Wochen unsere Karte - wir würden uns freuen, wenn du uns die Chance geben würdest, dich doch noch von unserer Küche begeistern zu können!

Sonnige Grüsse aus dem Salzhaus ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

... that are always busy no matter when you go and you’ve always wondered why. Now I know it: the food and the atmosphere, especially outside on the terrace in summer time is amazing.

Make sure you have a reservation or rely on your luck when cruising the most beautiful barok city of Switzerland. Stop by for a long lunch, the menue has sufficient variety incl some veggie options. The large selection of wine helps enjoy.

They also have a great inside sitting area which is designed after old caves and looks stunning. It’s not huge, which also adds to the cozy atmosphere. Happy to come over and over again

1  Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant-Salzhaus, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Salzhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Stephan,

Vielen Dank für deine tolle Bewertung und wir freuen uns schon auf deinen nächsten Besuch!

Sonnige Grüsse aus dem Salzhaus ☀️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Salzhaus also viewed

Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
 
Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
 
Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
Solothurn, Canton of Solothurn
 

Been to Restaurant Salzhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing