We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable host”

Buffet du Funiculaire
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Italian, Seafood
Description: The Buffet du Funiculaire is an establishment frequented by a faithful and cosmopolitan clientele. The restaurant have a very nice and warm dining room, a coffee shop as well as probably the most beautiful natural terrace of town!
Restaurant details
Description: The Buffet du Funiculaire is an establishment frequented by a faithful and cosmopolitan clientele. The restaurant have a very nice and warm dining room, a coffee shop as well as probably the most beautiful natural terrace of town!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were very happy with visit in that restaurant. Hosts are super nice. We've eaten restaurant special and was delicious, so we even didn't wanted to check other places and went again next day with no regret. Only thing I'd improve are chips. Greetings

Thank Sławomir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Responsable relations publiques at Buffet du Funiculaire, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Slawomir T,

First of all thank you for publishing your comment about our restaurant.

It a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, we're delighted about your feedback.

Hope you're enjoying your stay in Switzerland!

Have a nice weekend,

Best regards,

Enrico Angelisanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

After reading other’s reviews we decided to give this place a try. Very easy to get to on the 107 bus. Although The restaurant itself is right next to the funicular station and road, it is tucked away within trees and is very quaint. We were warmly greeted and made welcomed. The owners are very personable and friendly. They explained our meal choices and made recommendations. The food was incredible! It was very obvious that this family takes pride in their establishment. The place was immaculate and they work very hard serving their customers.

Thank cocoamom0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Responsable relations publiques at Buffet du Funiculaire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear cocoamom0316,

First of all thank you for taking the time to publish your comment.

It's a pleasure for us to read your feedback about your experience in our restaurant. We are delighted that you apprecied the food but also the ambience, our main goal is that our guests feel like at home.

We wish you a nice week.

Best regards,

Enrico Angelisanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Enrico personally welcomed us and gave us outstanding service. He was funny, entertaining and very helpful. The food was excellent and the steak was piping hot. Not only was he kind to us, the parents, but he went out of his way to ensure our three children were happy as well. There is a reason this restaurant is ranked so highly! Will definitely come back the next time we are in Neuchâtel. In fact, our kids wanted us to extend our stay this time just so we could eat there again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markknoefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Responsable relations publiques at Buffet du Funiculaire, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear markknoefel,

First of all thank you for posting your comment about our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

It's such a pleasure to read that your family had a pleasant time with us!

He hope to see you soon and wish you a nice week.

Best regards,

Enrico Angelisanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We arrived at the Buffet du Funiculaire…well because we saw the good reviews! That’s right, we don’t only complain on TripAdvisor, we use it too.

An eclectic and dynamic restaurant (please explain the giant elephant painting lit in red, won’t you?), the Buffet du Funiculaire caters to a wide range of clients, from local students to tourists, and couples to larger groups. Indeed on the night of our arrival, we sat adjacent to a table of young women friends, another with a couple, what I can only assume was a family gathering.

And if everyone is there, well, there must be a reason! And indeed, there is.

You won’t find any reductions of sauces of things-you-can’t-pronounce here…no need. Simple, tasty food, big portions, and that satisfying feeling of leaving on a full stomach, and a still-full wallet, ready for the whatever comes next.

Oh, and did we mention the owners? You’ll meet them too, as they take pride and pleasure in doting on their clients, sharing a friendly joke, and a story. Just like those Michelin-starred restaurants. The owner and his wife are lovely, friendly, and welcoming, always there with a smile. They are passionate about their restaurant, implicated, and available.

The owner actually asked me to write a review of this restaurant, and here it is. After all, a man’s word is his bond. I am impressed by him too, that a man of a certain age has understood the importance of internet marketing for the success of his business.

Moreover though, he and his wife have understood and proved to their clients something altogether more timeless: the meaning of hospitality.

Online or not, a smile, a joke, and a friendly gesture can change the world at the best of times, and will certainly make you feel just a noticeable bit better than when you walked in. She and he have noticed you, and are waiting to shake your hand.

Go and have dinner at the Buffet du Funiculaire. Leave expectations at home, bring an appetite, and be ready for a warm smile and a tasty meal. It will help you remember why restaurants exist in the first place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Purposeful_Wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Responsable relations publiques at Buffet du Funiculaire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear A G,

First of all, thank you for posting your comment about our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

Our team is delighted to read your post. As you said, we have a passion for the food, but not only for that, for hospitality too.

It's important for us to expend our restaurant on the social networks so we can share and discuss with our clients about the time they spent with us.

We hope to see you soon,

Best regards,

Enrico Angelisanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Steaks are delicious, soft and tender, melting in the mouth. Great service - very professional, helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

Thank Olimpia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina R, Responsable relations publiques at Buffet du Funiculaire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Olimpia G,

First of all, thank you for posting your comment about your experience on TripAdvisor.

We're really delighted to read that you had a pleasent time in our restaurant, that's our main goal.

We hope to see u soon,

Best regards,

Enrico Angelisanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet du Funiculaire also viewed

Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 

Been to Buffet du Funiculaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing