We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Excellent!”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
derivera
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed in Apartment B and were amazed with the view from the panorama windows overlooking the mountains and valley of Engelberg... The hosts were very friendly and did everything possible to make us enjoy our stay. The flat had everything we needed and there was also a shared sauna in the house for the guests to use. The house is a 3 min walk from the bus stop from which you can go to the Titlis main lift in under 10 minutes.
We would definitely recommend Alphaven to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view!
Liked least: all was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charmantr...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous Memories”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in September 2011

Whilst it was some time ago now, the fact that my family & I still talk about our week in Engelberg staying at Alphaven says it all. My sons thought it was the highlight of our month holiday through Switzerland, Italy & England! We had lovely days of hiking - you definitely have to get hold of the Trotti Bikes!!! Great fun even for slow mums! During the week we had some fantastic weather followed but snow followed by fantastic weather - you couldn't ask for more. It was heavenly watching the complete change in the seasons from our balcony with a glass of wine listening to the cow bells. During the bad weather day we went to the indoor sports centre & swam at the pool at the nearby hotel. The apartment was so comfortable & the DVD's were welcomed by the boys. We cooked some nights & enjoyed the fondue restaurant recommended by John in town a couple of times. John was sooo helpful in the leadup to our visit offering suggestions & answering all my queries. We had a car so getting supplies back to the apartment was never a problem, also driving to the various stations for the lifts/cable-cars. Definitely wouldn't hesitate recommending this wonderful apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylviazha...
shanghai
1 review
“A real escape from the city life”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

If you have a hustle and bustle life in a big city, this place is where you should be for the vacation. Booking is very easy and smooth. Don't worry about the view it would be better than any imagination. The owners, John and Ursula, have prepared a clean, well-equipped and cozy apartment. You can cook all the meals, watch TV, read books.. just like being at home.

When we arrived at the train station we called a taxi to Alphaven. It cost us 15CHF. If you plan to cook most of the meals, I suggest you buy all the stuff at the supermarket COOP first, before you take the taxi. Alphaven is located on the north hill of the little town, so it can be quite exhausting to go up hill by walk, carrying two or three heavy bags of supplies including drinks. There is a free ski bus no.4 taking you to the entry of Zelglistrasse but then you still have to walk upward for around 10 minutes to the apartment, which could be a good/tough exercise in the heavy snow season. For those who don't fancy such exercise, buy the stuff first and take the easy-ride of taxi together with your luggages.

But John's friend, Candy, was so helpful that she offered a lift several times during our trip. So we went down to the town by her car, to save the waiting time of shuttle bus (one in every hour, last one back to Alphaven is around 17:30). Thanks, Candy.

On the last day of our stay at Alphaven, we were told to leave the apartment by 10am. Then we moved to a four-star hotel, Waldegg, which is claimed to be only 8 minutes by walk from Alphaven. So we took our suitcases and started walking down. But it was so slippery after the snow that we thought we could never reach the hotel. If you plan to spend your winter vacation there, don't underestimate the walking both to and from the apartment.

Nevertheless the apartment itself is just as great as reviewed and described by all the travellers. I would definitely want to go back for summer vacation, and actually I am already expecting this :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, facilities of the apartment
Liked least: walking back to the apartment on snow and ice
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: ALL of it!
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jill C
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the best and most comfortable place I[--]ve ever stayed in with the most spectacular view.”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was absolutely perfect. This was the best experience I've ever had. The view from the balcony was the most beautiful scenery I've ever seen in my life. It truly was heaven there. The apartment felt like home too. Everything I needed was provided and it was extremely clean. John and Ursula were the most helpful and hospitable hosts I've come across as well. It was so nice to be walking distance from the village and the hiking spots. I highly recommend this apartment rental; it exceeded my expectations in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing