We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“DIED AND GONE TO HEAVEN!”
Spacious family villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious family villa
Swimming pool and sunbeds Large dining room seating up to 14
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Spacious family villa
Swimming pool and sunbeds
Large dining room seating up to 14
Warm and spacious sitting room
Well equipped kitchen
Games room
Master bedroom
Double room
Twin bedroom
All ensuite large bathrooms
View of Antognolla Castle from Capanne Pool
Villa Capanne, stunning gardens and luxurious house
Kitchen Garden
Beautiful gardens
Garden terraces
The cottage Capannetta
Capannetta Terrace
Capannetta Kitchen
Capanetta kitchen and dining room
Capannetta sitting area
Capannetta living room
Double bedroom capannetta
Stunning pool at night
Garden tables
Night lights
Golf course and Villa Capanne
Pergola
Large Swimming pool with both deep and shallow end
View from Capannetta Terrace
Antognolla Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Andrew W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DIED AND GONE TO HEAVEN!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our seventh stay at the superb Villa Capanne and each time the experience just gets better and better. From the moment you enter the property a feeling of peace and serenity pervades your soul. The villa, a spacious and authentically restored ancient farm house, is situated on the private Antognolla Estate. It overlooks the Antognolla Golf Course which is located in a peaceful and picturesque valley dotted with pencil pines. The valley is surrounded by rugged and heavily timbered mountains alive with fauna and flora. On the other side of the valley the majestic Antognolla Castle, often shrouded in mist, sits in its home on the side of a hill, amongst ancient olive trees.
Each time we visit this wonderful destination it welcomes us with open arms and the whole feeling is like coming home. Everything you could possibly want, and more, is provided and the wonderful managers David and Chrissie, who live locally, are readily available to advise and assist you with anything your heart desires. The main house and nearby cottage, Capannetta, are ideal for families or groups of friends who want to have a break in a real home and not just an ordinary impersonal holiday house. The owners have obviously been meticulous, taking great care to see the villa has been restored faithfully and the decoration and furnishings are in keeping with the building and its original age. The well-maintained, two and a half acre garden is a joy to behold and is alive with rows of lavender bushes, rosemary hedges, old olive trees and a large variety of other shrubs and herbs. They are a real pleasure to explore, both for adults and children alike.
Each time we have been to Villa Capanne we have said how lovely it would be to just stay home, go for walks, loll around the pool with a glass of wine and a good book and enjoy and appreciate the environment instead of rushing out every day doing touristy things. So, this time, that’s exactly what we did and loved it. However, when we weren’t having a barbecue in the wonderful outdoor dining area beside the pool, we did venture out for a few delicious authentic Italian meals at the wonderful, nearby Golf Club restaurant, Il Caldaro, which was open for lunch and dinner most days.
We just love this haven of peace and tranquillity that is Villa Capanne and hope to have the opportunity of returning again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful atmosphere and the view.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you so much
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gai P
Yamba, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Attention Romantics, dreamers and those desperately in need of R&R”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This magnificent property says welcome from the moment you enter the driveway gates and wind along the lavender lined road to the Villa. What awaits is a meticulously restored 650 year old villa overlooking the Antognolla Golf Links and valley featuring Costello Di Antognolla. Immediately all the stress of work, travel...life is washed away. The tranquil ambience continues through each of the expansive living areas and generous, sumptuous ensuite bedrooms. We started the day with a few laps in the pool and finished. Exploring the local villages and larger towns e.g. Assisi, Perugia, Urbino, we would return to sit by the enormous fireplace, a local red and good friends. This is what living is all about!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: You need your own transport
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your kind reveiws
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect venue for our group”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks in August here, our third year at Villa Capanne. The house and cottage are in excellent repair and very well equipped. The pool and gardens are beautiful. David and Chrissie are first class managers; when we asked for the lawn to be mowed a bit shorter so we could play croquet it was done the next day. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. The housekeeper is also a gem, working hard to fix any problems. We ate out twice at the golf club on the estate, a very good menu and great staff even when working flat out on busy nights.
I heartily recommend Villa Capanne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Dear Charles

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We hope to see you again soon
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teasleflo...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Tranquil, Peaceful, beautiful and fun”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

David, the rental manager, was there to greet our party of 11, including four children on 25th July. Two adults from China & their two children, four adults from Taiwan plus two children and one from the UK. David showed us around and demonstrated how everything worked. The villa was an oasis of calm and relative cool (the temperatures were hitting 35/37 degrees C). As previous reviews have said the whole villa including Capannetta is beautifully furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. Basics such as butter, milk, croissants, tea & jam are provided - enough for your first breakfast.

The pool's cleaning system is salt rather than the innocuous chlorine and it stayed one of the highlights of our stay. Most of the guests had great fun playing in the pool and the youngest ones obtained more confidence in the water. A man comes early one morning to check it and clean leaves etc out once a week - he is entirely unobtrusive.

The gardens were well maintained with lovely old olive trees on the lawns at Capanetta. I was treated to seeing a couple of Hoopoes feeding on the lawn - if you are lucky enough to see them do not rush out onto the lawn keep a quiet watch within Capanetta! Antonio, the Gardener, came early in the morning each day to tend to the gardens. Again not at all obtrusive.

The view from the pool across the Antonagolla Golf course to the castle is impressive. We were treated on our first morning to the mist swirling this way and that over the valley. The walk down to the course is also lovely and even though it was late July we were still treated to pretty wild flowers.

Marga kindly took three of us on an early morning tour to Gubbio via Umbertide which was really interesting. Others of the group enjoyed a visit to Florence, Perugia and Assissi.

Chrissie and David recommended Maurizio Mazza who can be found on www.autonogleggimazza.it as our transfer driver from Rome to Orvieto to the Villa and then back to Rome. Maurizio was an absolute gentleman - he bought water for us all. Provided a child seat for the youngest. Gave us information about various towns that we pasted on the way and at no extra cost he took us to Civita di Bagnoregio when we transferred from Orvieto to the Villa. Again at no extra charge he had to take us to two separate airports in Rome. Thanks Maurizio.

All in all a delightful stay at the Villa. So thanks to David and Chrissie for facilitating the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely and informative review
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyWizz78
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning villa set IN the beautiful Antognola golf course”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Unbelievably beautiful villa in unique private setting, perfect for family gatherings. A real home from home with all mod cons and lots of extras. Golf centre has a fantastic, friendly restaurant for all meals, great coffee! Chef to cook in was average, pool cleaning and gardening constant and too early.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the review.

I do apologise that the gardening was too early and you were not very impressed with the catering.

We would love to accommodate you again if you would like to come and we would be sure to confirm with the gardener the hours that would suit you and improve on the catering.

Have a wonderful summer and many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$386
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing