We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, comfortable and relaxing too”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rog-it-Ro...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and relaxing too”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Zen Cottage provided a week of slower pace for us as we travelled around northern Italy. With a car it is within easy reach of Siena, Volterra and other smaller centres for sight-seeing. Rosia township very handy for grocery shopping. Torri village is very close and is worth a walk through.
The location is very peaceful and quiet and the facilities modern.
We felt the kitchen was quite good but was not fully supplied with utensils. A kettle for the stove-top would be handy as there is no electric kettle due to issues this would create fuses and with the power supply. Visitors should be aware there is no facility for washing clothes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
A brand new electrical kettle with the allowed Italian voltage is now available at the cottage.
We really would like to offer a washing machine to our guest, however there isn't in the cottage and it is not listed in the house facilities. A cheap automatic laundry shop is located in Rosia at 2 km far away. It is open 7 days a week. I hope this info will come on handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssmith345...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Very Special Place”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I immediately fell in love with this beautifully renovated cottage when I saw it in the photographs and as soon as we step in we realized the house was even better than what we have imagined. It was comfortable, well-equipped and full of character. The restoration was extraordinary and the location is great asa the privacy has no price for us. We had no one around the property, only birds, threes and the blue sky. Being in close proximity of a village with supermarket, gas pump and bakery made the accommodation perfect. A great thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Fabulous secluded location within easy access of many facilities & the gorgeous Tuscan towns & valleys. Incredibly hot whilst we were there air conditioning would be a great future addition.
Blended into the hillside & wooded area , we had many interesting visitors including deer & lots of interesting birds. Unfortunately the location also means many insects & mosquitoes. Not a problem just get prepared with repellents or bite creams if you are adverse to bug killing. Spent hours relaxing & imagining the continued progress of the fab property.
Would definitely return to see how Cristina continues to develop the property.
As a landlady she was great. Left us in peace but was easily available if needed.
As always sad to leave the beautiful region of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, design & finish of property
Liked least: Cowhide rug
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty T
1 review
“Zen out of Ten”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for space, peace, and privacy in a rural location just outside the small town of Rosia, and about a 15 minute drive from Siena. There is no public transport so having your own car is essential.

The property is more a barn than a cottage, and renovated to a high standard providing modern accommodation and a comfortable stay. The website photographs depict an accurate presentation of the wonderful space and light of this unique place. Outside there is also a large area to sit and relax.

The owner, Cristina, was very friendly and helpful both before and upon our arrival (we stayed for a week in April). In addition to her ‘meet and greet’ she provided useful information on local restaurants and shops. (Do check on shop opening times as they may differ from what you are accustomed to!)

In summary, this is a lovely place which we would gladly recommend to others; both for it’s uniqueness and value for money. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and property design.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john s
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A peaceful very private property !”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the Zen Cottage for a week. The gated location was great for getting to many fabulous little towns and the best wine areas in the world. (Montalcino and Montipulciano to name a few)
We particularly enjoyed coming back at the end of a busy day to complete peace and quiet !
This cottage is truly Zen - completely renovated in the past few years, and equally as good as the pictures on the web site. We did expect more fruit trees, but they were not in bloom at this time. We especially enjoyed the openess with the windows allowing lots of sunlight throughout the cottage. To be fair, it took us a few days to get used to windows that had no coverings especially in the morning when we might have wanted to sleep. Our only suggestion to Christina was to replace white folding chairs with more comfortable chairs , where we had breakfast and sometimes a snack or dinner once. This unit would not work for anyone with disabilities or knee issues as the bedroom is on the second floor up a steep stair case and the bathroom is on the first floor. For us, it was not an issue.
Christina, owner was the best at answering all our questions and giving us suggestions/directions to local and other Itlay locations. She answered every email, call, and was completely attentive. She made our arrival easy meeting us at a convenient location for us to follow her to the property.
All in all - This is a great place to stay is you are looking for a great location close to Siena in the heart of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open and Clean Feel of the Cottage
Liked least: Bed linens and white folding chairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing