We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
496
295
50
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
295
50
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porta romana tuscan countryside minute walk split level beautiful garden area the hotel staff pastries city gate the bus spiral staircase beautiful view breakfast room charming hotel room number old city parking on site favorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Room 16

We stayed in the bi-level room with a spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom in an open loft. Huge windows could be opened to the breath-taking views in the back. If you want to stay in the room with a balcony that is Room 19. Everything was very clean, plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Breakfast was very relaxing and lovely out on the back picturesque patio. We enjoyed watching the birds bathe in the morning dew which had collected on the large plants. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially L. at the front desk. He spent a lot of time telling us about goings on and where to find things. He even gave us a history of the famous horse race.

It is an easy walk into town via one of the medieval gates (Porto Romana). Although you can walk, purchasing a couple bus passes from the front desk can help you get into the city center can be handy. Beware eating right in Piazza del Campo. The food is very over-priced and not that good. Right down the street from the hotel (opposite direction from the city) is Trattoria Fori Porta, an EXCELLENT restaurant with a wonderful owner.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Indy46032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

The hotel is just outside one of the main gates of Siena, making it a perfect short walk at the beginning or end of the day. Our room was perfect, with double windows opening out onto the courtyard. Breakfast was free, abundant and delicious. View from courtyard in back was beautiful. But what made our stay even better was the owner and front desk staff. They took the time to provide us with various recommendations and history lessons that enhanced our visit. And we were even able to park our rental car for a reasonable rate. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank CJC-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

We stayed at for 2 nights. It's a good 20 minute walk uphill to the Duomo. On the other hand it's at least a 45 minute or more walk to the bus or train station. If you're taking either of these transportations, you definitely will need to take a cab or have your own vehicle.
We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. It was quiet and had a view of the trees and flowers in the back. After arriving, the wife and I sat out back and enjoyed the scenery (at least for about 20 minutes). Once the mosquitoes and biting flies found us we went inside to the lobby. Unfortunately, they had left the door wide open, inviting those biting pests inside. Be forewarned, they do BITE and you won't hear them coming. It wasn't long before we were departing to the safety of our room.
We really enjoyed the breakfast inside. It's also nice that they have an elevator. The personnel at the desk are very helpful. They go out of their way to ensure that you are happy. One evening they made reservations for a restaurant 3 blocks away and this was on a Sunday evening. The meal was excellent. The next morning, they called a cab for us which arrived in 5 minutes which took us to the train station. I call that great service.

Room tip: Book a room in the back, which is quieter.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We stayed here for two nights during a week in Tuscany, taking two rooms. Both were at the rear of the hotel, where there is little traffic noise. Though not large, both had comfortable beds and well-equipped bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice, and the service all very professional, friendly and helpful.

The location is good, just outside the city walls on the south side and about 15 mins walk from the centre. It's a very good base for visiting the many beautiful sites in the city.

Room tip: Quieter at the rear, overlooking a garden
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank unbakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, breakfast is in a stunning location, easy parking, great hot water, has a lift, very near the old city. For an elderly couple it would have been nice to have a couch or more comfortable chair in the room, but everything else was wonderful! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank benmdadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews