We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
496
295
50
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
295
50
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porta romana tuscan countryside minute walk split level beautiful garden area the hotel staff pastries city gate the bus spiral staircase beautiful view breakfast room charming hotel room number old city parking on site favorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2018

The hotel is just outside one of the main gates of Siena, making it a perfect short walk at the beginning or end of the day. Our room was perfect, with double windows opening out onto the courtyard. Breakfast was free, abundant and delicious. View from courtyard in back was beautiful. But what made our stay even better was the owner and front desk staff. They took the time to provide us with various recommendations and history lessons that enhanced our visit. And we were even able to park our rental car for a reasonable rate. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank CJC-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

We stayed at for 2 nights. It's a good 20 minute walk uphill to the Duomo. On the other hand it's at least a 45 minute or more walk to the bus or train station. If you're taking either of these transportations, you definitely will need to take a cab or have your own vehicle.
We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. It was quiet and had a view of the trees and flowers in the back. After arriving, the wife and I sat out back and enjoyed the scenery (at least for about 20 minutes). Once the mosquitoes and biting flies found us we went inside to the lobby. Unfortunately, they had left the door wide open, inviting those biting pests inside. Be forewarned, they do BITE and you won't hear them coming. It wasn't long before we were departing to the safety of our room.
We really enjoyed the breakfast inside. It's also nice that they have an elevator. The personnel at the desk are very helpful. They go out of their way to ensure that you are happy. One evening they made reservations for a restaurant 3 blocks away and this was on a Sunday evening. The meal was excellent. The next morning, they called a cab for us which arrived in 5 minutes which took us to the train station. I call that great service.

Room tip: Book a room in the back, which is quieter.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We stayed here for two nights during a week in Tuscany, taking two rooms. Both were at the rear of the hotel, where there is little traffic noise. Though not large, both had comfortable beds and well-equipped bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice, and the service all very professional, friendly and helpful.

The location is good, just outside the city walls on the south side and about 15 mins walk from the centre. It's a very good base for visiting the many beautiful sites in the city.

Room tip: Quieter at the rear, overlooking a garden
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank unbakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, breakfast is in a stunning location, easy parking, great hot water, has a lift, very near the old city. For an elderly couple it would have been nice to have a couch or more comfortable chair in the room, but everything else was wonderful! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank benmdadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

What a treat! Santa Caterina is located just outside the historic entrance to Siena. Don’t let that location fool you as the views from this hotel are fabulous. Lorenza and her staff are warm and welcoming! Breakfast offers a good selection and hot coffee is super. The outdoor terrace is lovely with gorgeous views of the Tuscan Hills. Although an older boutique hotel, rooms with ensure bathroom offer ample space. We hope to return someday.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank macnmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenza C, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear macnmiles,
Lorenza and her Staff has enjoyed welcoming you: GRAZIE.
We are very proud to read that we contributed to make your stay at our Hotel memorable. It is an honor and a pleasure to read your appreciation for both our Service and our Structure: your words are the best professional prize we could receive: GRAZIE!
We really hope to welcome you here again and we are looking forward to it!
Meanwhile we would like to wish you ALL THE BEST! 
The Manager and the Staff of the Hotel Santa Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews