We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AWESOME”
other traveller has booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
villa
pool
living room
terrace
'Tosca' room
bathroom n.3
'Butterfly' room
bathroom n.2
balcony
pool
kitchen
'Traviata' room
bathroom n.1
'Aida' room
bathroom n. 4
dining room
living and outdoor area n.2
outdoor area n. 3
outdoor
tv room
panorama
'al fresco' meals
pool
villa
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tom m
Poland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Everything the reviewers say and MORE. Myself and a group of seven picked this vacation palace to base for tours in nearby Sienna and Florence and local sights. Far enough from the town to admire the beauty yet close enough to walk for an evening gialato! Great place to relaw for the day as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed setting and great views
Liked least: had to leave after 7 days
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCTravelf...
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Villa la Porticciola”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a week at La Porticciola and loved every minute of it. The location, just a quarter mile from San Gimingnano is perfect. The views are wonderful in every direction. Alessandro, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and responsive. There are four bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. Everyone of them was beautiful. There is a huge fireplace in the primary living room which we used every night. The kitchen is fully stocked with whatever you might need. The wi-fi worked great. When we were there at the end of October, the pool was still open. I did a massive amount of research before I found this place. It was well worth it. Compared to many others, the price is quite reasonable. Great location in the heart of Tuscany to explore Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca, and more. Alessandro will help you plan where to go and what to see. He even meets you in the village and guides you to the house. I can't say enough about this lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaHa...
Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in a picture perfect Tuscan landscape.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful villa for a stay in Tuscany with family and friends. Having San Gimignano within walking distance was perfect for good restaurants, interesting shops and apparently the best gelato in the world. Sitting outside on the terrace looking at the town in the distance and the Tuscan landscape surrounding it was unforgettable. The owner/manager, Alessandro Martini, was helpful, gracious and always attentive to special requests. I highly recommend this as a great vacation rental!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Vegetation around villa needs to be trimmed to enhance the view.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave4971
Bremerton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa La Porticciola is the place to savor Tuscany and relax.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of 9 adults from mid Sept to Mid October. All 4 bedrooms with en suite baths are large and comfortable. Common rooms include two living rooms, a large dining room and standard european style kitchen. Swimming pool is not heated.
I cannot say enough about Alessandro. He helped us with what to see, where to eat and treated us on our arrival with 4 bottles of wine. He also provided us with a phone, and arranged to have a guitar provided to one of our guests. He went above and beyond. He even threw in a traditional Tuscan dinner for 10 because we stayed 3 weeks. The chef was excellent and the meal was one
of many we will remember from our trip.
The views are fantastic. The vista is very popular with tour guides as they would park their vans at the end of our driveway, 50-75 yards from the house, and people would take shots of San Gimignano. From the outside
patio you have a panorama of the hillside and several mornings we awoke
to see hot air balloons flying about a mile from out vantage point. Pretty romantic for some aging seniors from the U.S.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinoroso2...
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Week in Paridise!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of seven who were extremely happy with our choice of this four bedroom villa with wonderful views of San Gimignano and surrounding vineyards. The location is very convenient; close enough for a walk into town, yet far enough to enjoy the wonderful views and seclusion. And an easy drive to the other hill towns and vineyards of central Tuscany, Florence, and Sienna. The pool very nice on those hot afternoons. Alessandro was extremely friendly and helpful. He arranged for his aunt to prepare a wonderful dinner that we thoroughly enjoyed. We definitely plan go back again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$248
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing