We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas in Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
villa
pool
living room
terrace
'Tosca' room
bathroom n.3
'Butterfly' room
bathroom n.2
balcony
pool
kitchen
'Traviata' room
bathroom n.1
'Aida' room
bathroom n. 4
dining room
living and outdoor area n.2
outdoor area n. 3
outdoor
tv room
panorama
'al fresco' meals
pool
villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Flats74
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas in Tuscany”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as 2 families of 4 and stayed the week of Xmas 2014. Allessandro was easily on hand to meet us and during the week came and cleaned out the pellet heater and answered any questions we had. We had a lovely welcome basket of fruit, chocolates and wine. We all had our own rooms with ensuite. The teenage kids shared. The Villa was well appointed and soaking in history...with its trap door under the kitchen and frescos in the bedrooms. The kids loved exploring the grounds ... noticing a truffle hunter wandering the grounds as they looked out the window ... we had nights by the open fire and beautiful sun filled days with crisp spectacular mornings. We woke on Christmas day to the glorious views of San Gimignano out every window...after the present opening and hearty italian brunch wandered up the road to town to enjoy a beautiful Italian Christmas Mass...this was a memorable Italian experience for us. The town was perfect at this time of year with all the christmas lights and we felt like we were the only tourists in town. We had a car which we think is a necessity. It is a 10 min drive to Poggibonsi where it is an easy bus or train to Florence and Siena. We drove through the tuscan hills to Volterra. It should be noted that a lot of Villas close at this time of year and there are limited timetables for buses. We were so happy to find Villa La Porticciola! the weather was glorious and San Gimignano was sensational.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cost of heating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfnutts
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Villa with Killer Views but Be Aware”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Discovered this location while researching properties online over a year ago. We completed a 2 week stay with several couples from our neighborhood near the end of April.

The Villa is a charming facility with good rooms that are very quiet thanks to ancient stone walls. The location near San Gimignano is marvelous, once you find it. You have to go a ways down a dirt road and turn on an unmarked driveway to get there. Once you find it though, it is a great location to hit all of the Tuscan highlights.

The views of the valley and ancient walled city are breathtaking. We found several folks walking up the drive toward the villa just to take in the view.

Now, the "be aware" part. This villa is run in what we understand to be the "traditional Italian manner". That means, other than towels, basic kitchen utensils, basic dishware, silverware and bed linens, you have to provide EVERYTHING. When you arrive there is no toilet paper, no paper towels, few spices, no dishwashing soap (although there were a few dishwasher tabs), no laundry soap, no soap in bathrooms, etc. You better stop by the local COOP or the PAM superstore in Poggibonsi before you get there. We also had a running battle with ants which the owner attributed to "it's summer" as he provided a fresh can of pesticide spray. We also found that only 3 of the burners on the cooktop worked which frustrated some ladies who came in to cook for the 8 of us.

Even with the inconveniences described above, we enjoyed our time there very much.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanding...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan Villa!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This villa is exactly what you picture when you think of a Tuscan holiday. The property is very large and all the rooms are wonderfully decorated with plenty of space and storage-the pictures do not do it justice! Because of the stone construction the rooms also stay comfortably cool. The villa is set well off the road and you have the feeling of your own private oasis. You can tell the villa has been modernized with care to preserve the original features (doors, shutters, fireplace), which all add to the charm. The pool is also beautiful and clean with plenty of chaise loungers. The villa is also spoiled with five modernized clean bathrooms. But what really makes the property special is the views. You can sit outside and have your meals with a full unobstructed view of San Gimignano-I have traveled extensively and this is arguably one of the most beautiful skylines I have seen. There is plenty of outdoor furniture and a BBQ which we made use of. From the villa you can walk or a quick drive up to San Gimignano and there are numerous other towns nearby to explore (eg. Volterra). A COOP is very close to the villa for all your grocery needs, with a larger PAM market just a >15 min. drive into Poggibonsi. The train station in Poggibonsi is also perfect for car free access to Florence, Siena, etc. Alessandro was very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Book with confidence! We were five adults and one toddler who stayed in this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large comfortable rooms, many bathrooms, Views!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A house in the countryside, but only a short walk to town”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We wanted to stay in a Tuscan countryside villa, but still close enough to amenities, restaurants and shops for our young family. This house has such great history and is a great balance of old and new. Alessandro is a nice and helpful owner and we enjoyed our time staying eight nights at this house. From here we explored the best of Tuscany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Long Awaited Tuscan Holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have been planning an extended family holiday to Tuscany for a couple of years so there was a lot riding on Villa La Porticciola.

The villa exceeded our expectations. It was welcoming and comfortable with amazing views of San Gimignano and the surrounding Tuscan countryside. It was originally a fort and converted into a home in the 14th century.

Our party included two children (10 and 7), two parents and 3 grandparents and there was plenty of space for everyone to either be together or have their own space depending on the mood. All the bedrooms were spacious with clean modern bathrooms.

We ate every meal on the sun soaked terrace outside the kitchen, watched the sun go down and the stars appearing - and there were even magical fire flies in the garden in the evenings.

The swimming pool was spotless and perfect for the children. You can buy masks and flippers in the shops in San Gimignano.

There is a wonderful ice cream shop in Piazza Cisterna. It is well worth an evening walk up the cobbled streets of San Gimignano to buy an ice cream. You can sit on the steps of the Duomo to eat it, listening to the swifts and watching children play football in the balmy evening air as the sun goes down.

The villa is well located for visiting the area although, as it was so hot when we were there, we didn't do as much as we hoped to. We did visit Siena which was about 45 minutes away and we booked a late flight home so that we would have time to visit Pisa on the way back to the airport. We got great take away pizza from La Taverna Del Granducato on our first night and fantastic Bistecca Fiorentina from the same restaurant later in the week. Despite the soaring temperatures, the villa was coolly comfortable throughout our stay.

The owner, Alessandro is friendly and professional and happy to help but never in the way. He gave us a map of the town and marked the supermarkets and restaurants and the local wine cooperative on it. The wine coop is worth visiting early in your stay rather than later as we did and stocks lots of local wines. We do like to cook a bit and the kitchen is adequately equipped for this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the terrace
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing