We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace with amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casolare di Libbiano
Ranked #4 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Our only regret was that we only had one night here! It was a bit further from San Gimignano than we thought but they offered a four course, set menu dinner on site so this was not an issue. The meal was FANTASTIC. Whatever you do make sure you eat here!! The breakfast was also superb and the hosts absolutely delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and great senses of humour. I would definitely stay longer next time to just relax by the pool and eat.

Room Tip: The suite not really suitable for two couples as the bathroom was an ensuite to the main bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

We loved our experience at Casolare di Libbiano and just wish we could have stayed longer. Berta and Andrea worked incredibly hard to cater to our every need. The garden and pool were beautiful and serene. My wife really enjoyed Berta's cooking class. Both Berta and Andrea are charming, friendly and helpful. Be sure to take a look at the one thousand year old church on their property.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank familytravel835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. If you like the feel of completely being surrounded by nature, Tuscan hills whilst being secluded hidden away then this is the place for it! Rooms are a little small but this is to be expected given the old farmhouse style from back in the days when large rooms were not the norm.

Very friendly and well accommodating staff. The owners Andrea & Berta were really kind and always welcoming with a big smile.

The 4 course dinners here is simply amazing. A real taste of authentic Tuscan cuisine freshly prepared everyday by Berta was definitely a tasty memory we will take away with us for long time to come.
We booked our trip almost 6 months in advance and since then I fell pregnant. So naturally the restricted pregnancy diet was playing on my mind as Italian cuisine is renowned for cold cut meats, raw eggs in tiramisu, gelatos and soft creamy cheese in most dishes. We absolutely love Italian food and I was naturally very worried about how I would cope with me being pregnant and can not have most of the delicious Italian food. But I must say, Berta & Andrea has made it so perfect for me. They were very caring and asked me on our first day about all the details of what I can and can't eat and made sure all my pregnancy dietary needs were met with particular attention to detail. We are so grateful for their kindness in making sure I was able to enjoy exquisite Tuscan cuisine without the worry of it being pregnancy safe. It was almost as if like the same care my own mum would have taken and that is something very special you don't find everywhere.

Thank you so much for a memorable stay and the delicious dinners! If we can award a Michelin star to Berta we sure will

We will definitely return with our baby in the future.

Wishing Andrea, Berta & the wonderful smiley team a great year ahead.

Best wishes, Henrik & Sinduja

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sinduja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This was our second visit Tuscany and unfortunately our stay at Casolare di Libbiano fell well short of the two venues we stayed at previously. The first negative was the fairly long dirt road to reach the BnB. Although the surface was reasonable, it is winding and narrow. The accommodation was at best average with most of the furniture fairly 'tired'. Wi Fi is only available in one location so often it became a collection point for guests. The breakfast was well below what one expects for this type of venue. Quite a limited selection. Also one of the real attractions of Tuscany is the wonderful scenery. It is disappointing that there is little if any from this venue. As mentioned before the two BnB's we stayed in during our last visit were better in every respect than Casolare di Libbiano yet were less expensive by a fair margin. I thus believe this venue is over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berta M, Proprietario at Casolare di Libbiano, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

We are again surprised that you write twice the same review, you and your wife. That is why we copy our response from the previous one. You can read it as follows:

We expected your bad review, since you told us verbally that you will do it, when we informed you that you have to pay the total amount of your booking, according with our cancellation policy, when you have informed us that you have decided, without a motivation, to depart 1 day earlier.
We are really surprise, because the things that you have criticized, they are all explained in our website. We have been always honest, clear and professional people, now is 28 years that we run this business.
In our website you can read:
- That the WIFI reach the common areas (lounges, terraces and garden), not inside the rooms. We also informed you of this by e-mail.
- That to arrive to our B&B there is a dirt road in the nature riserve.
- That our B&B is at 8 km from San Gimignano village, in the countryside.
We inform you that for us the most important thing is that all our guests, as you can read in the reviews, enjoy their stay with us.
We also like to remember you that when you told us that you were disturbed by the backgroud music, that we play just at dinner time (8 till 10/10,30), we have inmediately disconnet it in the lounge, where you were, to not bother you, this is the first time that someone complains about the music, since it is always classical or Italian opera, which our guests like a lot.
The furniture we have in the house are of great value, is not "old", is "antique", that is quite different.
Our daily cleaning is much appreciated by our guests, it is something that we take great care of.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t appreciate our full commitment to the care of our guests and our home. Regards, Berta & Andrea & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 9 nights in the studio:
+: The owners and their staff are really nice and do their best to make your stay enjoyable, very tidy, flowers pruned daily, grass cut weekly, good mattresses, and the best part, the meals. Homemade meals cooked with products bought daily and very delicious. They even made special meals for me because I have allergies.
- : We would have liked curtains on the door to block the light because it was impossible to sleep in the morning, our terrasse was supposed to be private but we had people go through it and even one peson from the "banda" came to smoke next to our window, curtains in the bathroom would have been nice to have some privacy while taking our shower, and new sundeck chairs at the pool are necessary. Thank you for eveything Bertha and Andra

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catherineszabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1 341 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
373 reviews
8.1 km away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
341 reviews
4.8 km away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#3 of 67 in San Gimignano
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casolare di Libbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casolare di Libbiano

Address: Localita Libbiano 3, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: R1 801 - R3 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casolare di Libbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casolare di Libbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casolare Di Libbiano Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing